Ratings based on 244 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a good location.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, pool, lounge
Cons: The beds are very very hard with inadequate bedding. Breakfast and internet are far too expensive.
Location: Walking distance to zoo, KaDeWe, large shopping center and restaurants as well as the hop on/hop of bus tour which is very good.
Over the years, I've stayed in many hotels and I've come to learn that star rating is quantity over quality. That is to say, the number of amenities is more important than the quality. This is a five star hotels and offers everything you might need; if you're willing to pay for it. Breakfast was a real eye-opener...26 euros per person. I wonder if anyone pays it? There are perfectly good, inexpensive, restaurants everywhere nearby. Internet is another high-cost addition. I've learned that you must go 3 star if you want these things included. That being said, it is a really excellent hotel. The staff is incredible and very helpful, great location, wonderful swimming pool and gym. The lounge and bar area were spacious with ample seating and hailing a taxi was as easy as asking at the front desk - we never had to wait. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable - very hard and the blankets were too small for the beds. Also, pushing two twin beds together does not make a king sized bed. Poor lighting in the room as well, especially considering how small the window is. Plenty of storage space for clothes, but not so much in the bathroom. It's a good hotel, and I wouldn't tell my friends not to stay there, but I've stayed in hotels that are just as "nice" with much better value in Germany.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DAvid & MAry from London, UK

Excellent Location, Good facilities

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Location and facilities, staff manners
Cons: Put Double beds in rooms.
Location: excellent location, close to nice shops and Zoo (ideal for children)
very nice hotel in a very good location. Not very pleased with Beds. Requested a double bed, we got 2 single beds put next to each other. Not very nice. Outside view was not nice , and we had to walk a long way to get to our room. We asked to change our room to have street view. New room was much better. Hotel facilities were good, too. Breakfast was too expensive compare to similar hotels we stayed before. Staff were very helpful. we enjoyed our stay. Thank you.
5 out of 5
by sydney 1964 from St Albans

A wonderful stay

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Everything. Large spacious room with great views. Great location. Wonderful staff.
Cons: That would be hard on the evidence of our stay.
Location: Beer, Zoo, Tour Bus, Food, exclusive shopping. Oh and more food and beer!
An amazing hotel in a great location of the city. The facilities are lovely with the pool very clean and a real bonus after a long day sightseeing. The staff were so friendly and could not do enough for you. The room was fantastic and had great views across the Zoo (which is also a must see by the way!). We had one of the best European City breaks we have done in a long time and it was relatively inexpensive. We booked a 'rare deal' through Expedia which to my delight, also included the city taxes that you pay at the end of your stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone and when we go back to Berlin, this is where we would stay. Could not fault anything at all. The hotel is 100m from the train station that takes you directly to the Schonefield airport for only 3.2 euros in 35 mins. It is only 200m from the yellow tour buses and also the fantastic shops and only 50m from the zoo entrance!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Canterbury UK

Berlin Stay

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff wonderful pianist and double basist in cocktail bar.
Location: See above. Very handy to railway station (5 mins) from Schonfeld airport.
Excellent hotel, obliging and friendly staff. Hotel is very well situated for easy access to the sites of the city, by bus or tour bus which starts round corner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Had a weekend in Berlin and this hotel was superb.

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Excellent hotel, great for shops, bars and restaurants. Staff were first class and very helpful.
2 out of 5
by stephen from London

Not as good as thought

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Charging for WiFi, 2 separate mattresses, rooms are too small, 15 euros for a film from 5 years ago that lasts 24 hours. Cleaners are rude. This was just some of the bad things.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bill from Portsmouth, England

Very nice hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Luxury feel, indoor pool, staff helpfulness
Cons: Breakfast is 26 euros, but you can (like us) get breakfast in Tiffany's Cafe in the Europa Centre next door for around 15 euros.
Location: The hotel is in the old 'west' Berlin opposite the Zoo. The nearest u-bahn station (Zoo gardens) is 10 mins walk and the airport train stops here.
Definitely worth 5* and a really nice hotel. We had a 'basic' room, but it was still spacious with a sofa, armchair 32" TV, separate bath and shower.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jenny from israel

Nice enough

Posted Feb 20, 2014
It's a good deal for the money, hotel is nice but not 5star level.. Staff is friendly but they don't clean the room that well when your out.. But we got a really good deal (100$ for single room, 350$ for suite) So for the money it's totally worth it. Also, close to all shopping areas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel , excellent location

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Cons: Internet service
Location: Perfect
Hotel is very nice ,clean , location is super just one problem is internet in room very poor
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by woman travlling from canada

Okay place great location

Posted Feb 12, 2014
The hotel itself is in a great location and is generally nice interior although smells smoky . I left my room at 930 and when I wanted to come back and refresh at 330 400 my room wasn't cleaned . After a long day out you want to go to your room before your evening . No free wifi and breakfast was 26 Euros . I am 5'5 petite woman . How could I eat that much breakfast . Staff helpful and friendly but at checkout asked if I wanted to contribute to a charity they were fundraising for . At an extra charge for wifi seriously in today's world that is what seperates a hotel .