Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Boutique hotel, with a feel of being family owned

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The newer building is extremely well appointed. I appreciated the attention to detail regarding energy saving initiatives that had been installed.
Cons: Can your website please be updated to provide details on how to get to the hotel from the airport, using public transport.
I stayed for 5 nights at the New Berlin Hotel. After a small issue with one of my rooms in the older block, I was very kindly transferrred to a room in the modern building. This room was fantastic. Great facilities, modern appointments. The staff were consistently helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. I feel the staff really contributed to the overall positive experience I had. The breakfast buffet was fantastic, great choices, helpful staff, a real treat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dana from toronto

brilliant

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: reasonable
Cons: dining room
Location: all the DDR glory just round the corner
completely enjoyable, great staff, spacious modestly elegant rooms...not exactly in the hub of the action but close enuf
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Noah from Kaiserslautern

Nice hotel near transportation

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: Bed...heated bathroom floor...shower.
Cons: restaurant menu.
Location: east side gallery was a 10 minute tram ride away. great Vegan store with bakery and hot coffee.
Overall a very nice experience. the restaurant menu was rather limited, so we ate a few blocks away. Two different families were given the same mis-information about continental breakfast. We asked at checkin - were told it started at 0640 on weekends. Got over to the space in the adjacent building and it didn't start until 0700. But it was a nice breakfast with tons of options..very traditional German.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Berlin from Isok

Not Bad

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was born in India and live in America, so I want to acknowledge that I will have biases, just like anyone else. I was returning from a trip from India back to the states and I thought that it would be fun to see Berlin. Hotel New Berlin is pretty good. The breakfast is really good and free. The Bar is ok, a little pricey by my standards, but cheap for Europe and on par for Berlin. I just wish the people were just slightly more friendly. The day staff was excellent, but the night staff didn't want to be bothered at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Excellent Place to Stay

Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Huge room in the Mediterranean wing, high ceilings, clean and well maintained. great breakfast buffet!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by John from Australia

Great stay

Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Reception were sensational , breakfast was great, M10 tram 50 m away into Berlin , Volkspark nearby and a quiet safe neighbourhood , loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jonathan from Lancaster, Lancashire, UK

Great hotel for a weekend stay!

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: Fantastic breakfast. Clean and well maintained.
Cons: Separate building for the mediterranean rooms.
Location: Located some distance from the city centre, however the hotel was chosen to be close proximity to a friend's apartment in Berlin
Surprised upon arrival to discover that the Mediterranean rooms of the hotel are located in a separate building across a courtyard/carpark. The separate building is however, the location of the breakfast room so this was very convenient in the morning. The receptionist was welcoming and helpful upon arrival, however whilst deciding upon a drink at the bar on the last night she was confrontational as a friend perused the spirits on offer (almost accusatory that he was about to help himself). This was far from the case!! The breakfast on offer is excellent and the staff were very efficient and helpful with provision of fresh coffee and replacing any items/crockery that had run out. The continental breakfast was fresh and appetising including cold meats, cheese, smoked salmon, yoghurts, cereals, pastries, bread and fruit juice. The room was clean and spacious, although the room we were allocated (Room 203) was at the far side of the building and was narrow in width compared to our friends whose room felt more spacious being more square in shape. The only criticism (which we did not complain about) was that there was some candle wax on one of the duvet covers. The rooms were very well cleaned each day by the cleaning staff. We did not have any experience of eating at the hotel's restaurant during out long weekend stay so are not able to provide a review of their food. The hotel is conveniently located and easily accessed by public transport (Tram and train nearby).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Krista from New York

Trendy Boutique Hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2013
Pros: Staff, breakfast.
Cons: Housekeeping - we had three of us over three days and were never given new towels or shampoo.
Location: Walk south on Ptersburger, over the bridge, for nightlife.
NEWBERLIN is a cute hotel with a super friendly staff. I only would complain about location. It's difficult as a tourist to pinpoint where to be in Berlin. This hotel was about a 25 minute walk from happening Kruezberg and 25 or 30 minutes the other direction with get you to Mitte. Which is not bad at all once or twice, but it makes going to your room throughout the day to change or whatnot a little tricky. Staff gave us directions to various places, helped us print our boarding passes, held our bags after checkout (late flight) etc. Free breakfast was much better than most hotels I've been to. Not the fastest WiFi ever, but free so we survived.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2013
Pros: Breakfast, rooms were modern
Cons: It was quite stuffy in the room, no fan provided
Overall, check in staff were a bit grumpy. Chef was very helpful and friendly Breakfast was good, parking area bonus!