Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Good hotel for the price

Posted Jan 28, 2015
East Berlin is definitely the place to stay in Berlin and this hotel is directly on a tram line and in Prenzlauer Berg one of the coolest areas in the city (great restaurants!). The hotel's common areas (ie. stairwells) are a little rundown, but the rooms have been updated fairly simply and are clean and usable. The walls are incredibly thin however, so if you had a noisy neighbour or don't sleep very soundly then it could be a problem. Breakfast was an excellent cold German buffet (though the coffee wasn't great) - lots of meats, cheeses, yoguorts and other treats like apple crisps. The staff are helpful and nice. The only other thing I'd note, is that I stayed for 2 nights and my room was not cleaned while I was there. Not a problem for me - but if you had two people and were staying for longer it might have been something I would raise with the staff. Overall, I was very pleased with this hotel for the price and loved the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Hamburg

Gemütlicher Berlin-Style

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Späte Anreise hat mit Schlüsselbox super funktioniert! WLAN-Codes lagen mit dabei. Top!
Location: Zentral in den Szene Stadtteilen Prenzlauer Berg und Friedrichshain
Wir fühlten uns wie Zuhause im gemütlich eingerichteten Doppelzimmer mit Dielenboden und bequemen Doppelbett und konnten auch nach 21:00 Uhr noch problemlos via Schlüsselbox anreisen. Sehr freundliches Personal!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Small and charming hotel in quiet location

Posted Jan 3, 2015
The Old Town Hotel is located in Prenzlauer Berg a couple of Tram stations away from Bahnhof Alexanderplatz and in walking distance to the Kastanienallee. This location (away from the super touristy center) is probably one reason that the prices are low. The rooms are small but charming and clean. We stayed only one night and I enjoyed the very friendly staff (who lent me his personal USB cable to charge my phone). It's exactly this kind of personal experience that I enjoy in a smaller place (as opposed to the big chain hotels).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom The Hague Netherlands

Nice, quiet and comfortable hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Cons: Better information concerning checking in.
Spacious and quiet rooms in a friendly neighbourhood at very decent prices. The only minus is that the reception closed one hour earlier and we were not informed about that. It was however able to check in by giving them a call after which they gave us a code to check in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

günstiges sauberes Hotel in sehr ruhiger Lage

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Ruhige Lage
Cons: größere Garderobe im Zimmer, Temperatur Frühstücksraum;
Location: Prenzlauer Berg, nette Lokale und coole Geschäfte, sehr gepflegte Altbaugegend - mit der Tram in 5 - 10 min. am Alexanderplatz.
Das Hotelpersonal war sehr zuvorkommend und freundlich, das Zimmer war sehr sauber und hatte einen sehr angenehmen Charakter - leider sind fast keine Möglichkeiten zum Aufhängen der Kleider vorhanden. Das Frühstücksbuffet war gut, frisch und ausreichend, der Frühstückraum für die Jahreszeit (Dezember) zu kalt. Das Hotel ist für seine Preisklasse in Ordnung.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom b

Clean & simple

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Seems like a youth hostel. Not practical that only key to open building after23h. But otherwise very nice: very good bfast and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Erlendfrom Oslo

Helt streit hotell

Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Mitt andre opphold på dette helt streite hotellet. Rolig beliggenhet (inne i en bakgård), litt slitent, men hyggelig betjening. Stort pluss for kort avstand til mye gode restauranter. Trikken stopper rett utenfor og tar fem minutter til Alexanderplatz.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Johannfrom Wien

schöner & angenehmer Aufenthalt

Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Äußerst freundliches Personal, Lage sehr gut, Zimmer sehr ruhig.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rolf

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Hellefrom Brøndby

Skøn oplevelse

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Det varet dejligt ophold, helt stille om aftenen. morgenmaden var super dejlig, alt hvad hjertet kunne begære. Varme vafler hver morgen. Der var helt rent på værelser, ikke en kalk plet på badeværelset, kan klart anbefales.