Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Lovely hotel. Easy connections to sightseeing.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
The steigenberger hotel is a lovely, luxurious hotel with easy connections to the airport via train and central to all main sightseeing attractions. Would recommend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best in Berlin!

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Location and the staff.
Cons: Internet connection was spotty.
Location: Kudamm and everything that goes with it!
Stayed here for 2 nights. Had 2 rooms. Being a VIP access hotel, they upgraded us to Executive rooms. Room service is good. Will stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2014 by HB031, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind comment. Nice to hear, that you felt very well at our hotel. We are looking forward to welcome you again. Kind regards STEIGENBERGER HOTEL BERLIN
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Best location in Berlin

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The staff are fantastic and really helpful!
Cons: Why did you close the Executive Lounge. I really missed it.
Location: Its near the zoo and you can to any part of Berlin in under 30 minutes.
My favorite hotel in Berlin since I have stayed there multiple times. Location is fantastic especially if you are with the family. On a back street next to Kudaam - metro stations, zoo everything is right there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2014 by HB031, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your great comment. It’s a pleasure to hear that you had again a wonderful stay at the Steigenberger Hotel in Berlin. Hopefully you will return very soon. Best regards, STEIGENBERGER HOTEL BERLIN
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Good hotel in city centre

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was very good and excellent value along with the bar meals and the restaurant staff are very polite and helpful.
Cons: When asking advice from reception staff they where not always helpful and seemed to prefer dealing with business customers Towels where warn out.
Location: Fantastic shopping opportunities close by whilst being in a quiet location.
We last visited Berlin along with our young children 30 years ago when it was a divided city and to se it again was quite an emotional experience. The last time we traveled from West Berlin to East Berlin through Check Point Charley on a special Visa it was like stepping back in time. The East looked a pretty grim place. This time we visited all the same places by using the brilliant transport system with one ticket for the U bahn, S bahn,Buses and Trams. We managed it all in between excellent shopping and even got as far as Potsdam. A very good five day holiday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by HB031, Hotel Management
Dear Geoff, Thank you for your kind comment. Thank you for being our guest. Hopefully you will return to the Steigenberger Hotel in Berlin once again. Kind regards STEIGENBERGER HOTEL BERLIN
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Central location

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Good location. Pleasant staff
Cons: None
Location: Close to excellent shopping and restaurants
We very much enjoyed our stay. The hotel is centrally located close to good restaurants and shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2014 by HB031, Hotel Management
Dear Anupam, Thank you for your comment. Nice to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel. Hopefully you will come back very soon. Kind regards STEIGENBERGER HOTEL BERLIN
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Not quite 5* hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: cleaning and be more friendly
Location: Zoological Garden and the Kaiser William church. Shopping district.
Although it is a nice hotel, it is not as good as I expected for a 5* hotel. It seems a 4* hotel to me. The room was dusty and small. Staff was only OK and only helpful when you asked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2014 by HB031, Hotel Management
Dear Mark, Thank you for your comment am for being our guest. Sorry that we could not satisfy your needs with your service quality. Maybe we can convince you with the service quality while your next stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Berlin. Best regards, STEIGENBERGER HOTEL BERLIN
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very good location.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Staff were so lovely and helpful.
Cons: Everything was fine.
Location: Bars, restaurants, shops. Tour buses, Berlin zoo, Berlin wall and so on!
Berlin is a great city. lots to see and do. Should have booked an extra couple of days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2014 by HB031, Hotel Management
Dear Babe, Thank you for your kind comment. It’s a pleasure to hear that you had a nice stay at our hotel. Hopefully you will visit us again very soon. Kind regards, STEIGENBERGER HOTEL BERLIN
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mike from manchester

Great hotel close to trains, buses and lots of sho

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Staff where tantasic, room was ready early and everything was clean. Everything was very nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2014 by HB031, Hotel Management
Dear mike, Thank you a lot for your great comment. Hopefully we could welcome you soon again at our Hotel. Kind regards, STEIGENBERGER HOTEL BERLIN
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moscow

They ask 5 Euros to bring a wine opener to room.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Employee attitude towards guests. The hotel might be receiving enough clients, that shouldnt be a reason for employees to take a preachy attitude.
Location: Location is great, at the shopping area.
I've stayed at this hotel 2 years ago and booked again this time without doubt. Seems like the hotel went into a decaying period during this time. The room temperature was low when we first entered and since we worried about our baby, we wanted to turn on the conditioner for heating. It didnt work. We asked for help and technicians came and their solution was to leave a radiator to us, which we didnt want to use since our baby was crawling all over the room and could touch the hot radiator, easily. So we had to stay in the cold room for 2 days. During our stay, our room entry cards and parking card didnt work at various times. The bomb of our stay came at our last evening. We bought a bottle of wine from the market nearby and asked from the receptionist a wine opener. First they said OK and then after 25 minutes, we called and asked when we should expect to get it. They said the wineopener can be brought by the Roomservice and each roomservice has a cost for Euro 5. Then the following conversation took place: Me: The wine-opener is a standart thing for a room, most of the time, it is in the room and if not none of the hotels would ask to charge for bringing it on request. Receptionist: Believe me, in Germany, it is not, sir. Me: I check your room-service menu and there is no wine-opener bringing item. Receptionist: Sorry sir, we have to charge 5 Euro for it. This has been the worst conversation I had in a supposedly 5-star hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2014 by HB031, Hotel Management
Dear guest "jumbojet" Thank you very much for your stay in the Steigenberger Hotel Berlin and for taking the time in writing and publishing your review. I regret very much that you did not enjoy your stay due to the temperature in your room and due to the missing functionality of your parking card and room key card. I hereby like to express my sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused by this incidence. Obviously, it was incorrect that we did not ask you if you were okay with the mobile heating in your room. In that case, we could have offered you a room move. The functionality of the key cards and parking cards is usually given and I can only imagine that there might has been a blocking due to other magnetic items nearby. In regards to the charge for the room service delivery of a wine opener, I can only apologize for the content of your conversation with our service or reception staff. He or she did not try to explain in an appropriate way, why we are charging the delivery by the amount of 5,00 EUR. Belated, I can only give you the following explanation: the wine opener is no standard item in our bedrooms as we offer wine with a rotary closure in our minibars. The room service is not a complementary service and we inform the guests in the room service menu about the charge. Nevertheless, I understand that you were disappointed not to be informed in advance about the charge and obviously the price is disproportionate in relation to the service you required. I do apologize for this unpleasant incident. Unfortunately, I do not have the opportunity to reverse your impressions. I hope you can accept my apologies. Hopefully, if you come to Berlin again, you will give us the chance to convince you of an improved service quality. Best regards Anja Kliese de Souza Assistant to General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Berlin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tel aviv, israel

Very nice hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2014
The rooms are spacious, very clean, and the service was excellent. To assist us with our late-evening flight they allowed us to check-out a bit later and even use their wellness-center facilities to freshen up past our check-out time. The location - 5min walk from the zoo's train Uban was very comfortable to easily reach all the area of Berlin and its airports.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2014 by HB031, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your great comment and for visiting our hotel. It is a pleasure to hear that you felt well at our hotel and we hope to see you soon at the Steigenberger Hotel in Berlins. Kind regards, STEIGENBERGER HOTEL BERLIN