Ratings based on 533 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

over rated hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Hotel needs to be remodeled or the price need to be around 50euro. Otherwise, it is not worth it.
Location: The location is ok.
The hotel is old and not well maintained and the carpet is not clean. I stayed two nights and I was gone all day, when I came back my room looked exactly like I left, apparently room service never visits the room until you leave. The breakfast is certainly not worth the money. Extremely basic. For the rest of my stay in Berlin, I moved to another hotel where I am paying 20 euro less and it is newly remodeled including a truly continental breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Very very average hotel.

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Beds were ok. good location
Cons: as mentioned before: update the funishings supply wi-fi supply English tv
Location: location was good fairly near shops and U and S train lines.
Furnishings are badly in need of an update. Staff could practice smiling and being more welcoming. When asked to please print our flight tickets, we were told : send me an email and I'll do it - with very little grace. Internet costs around 12 euro per day (but 30 mins free per day) All our other (cheaper) hotels around europe had unlimited free wi-fi. Only hotel we stayed in that didn't have any English channels save for BBC news and CNN news.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Nothing like the website suggests!!

Posted Nov 2, 2014
We had a small room with two tiny single beds in it with duvets that didnt fit the bed as they were small too. The bathroom was tiny too and there was clearly a design fault as it slopped to one side .... even the toilet. The doors on the rooms are very weak and could easily be broken into and we could see where ours had clearly been repaired! We didnt feel comfortable or particularly safe here. The noise was also an issue, not people yelling or drinking but walking round in the ajoining rooms / upstairs and doors opening and closing! You could hear EVERYTHING! Whats more after you havent slept all night due to the noise and uncomfortable beds, the house keeper starts knocking on everyones doors at 8:30am and because you can hear everything, even when hes not knocking on your door it pretty much sounds like it it. The location is ok and the staff were very lovely however having been to Berlin multiple times I can safely say that this was worst hotel I have stayed in!! If you want something well located with plenty going on thats modern, clean and friendly then stay at the Park Inn on Alexandraplatz!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom berlin

Location not bad

Posted Oct 18, 2014
It was bad because experience because the Internet was very bad and I had too many problems with it. One day the receptionist called my cloud to solve the problem.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Turriff - Aberdeenshire - UK

Good and bad points but overall would go back.

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Excellent location for all public transport, good shopping areas, tourist attractions and Tegal airport. Hotel facilities of gym and steam room were very good and with 4 apple computers with free internet this was a big plus (shame they did not all work whilst I was staying). Hotel was very clean and tidy. However it could be improved by new carpets as they did appear quite marked. My only issue with this hotel was staff. Reception staff were not very welcoming or helpful when asking for any assistance. Also The cleaning staff were rude as they did not knock before entering and just walked into my room at 9am on the day i was checking out (Noon is check-out time so I had plenty time). Also heard other customers complaining of this. Apart from that I was happy. Cannot comment on food as did not have breakfast included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Great location, very comfortable hotel.

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Great hotel with fab facilities. Excellent location, close to the train links, zoo and shopping. Hotel staff more than helpfull. Just a tiny detail of staining on the bathroom floor but not much to worry about. Very comfy bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2014 by Marcus, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate your kind feedback and are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Sincerely yours, Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NB Canada

The hotel was not in a good area.

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The rooms are very large, large bathrooms also and very clean.
Location: Use the metro which is so close by. There is a grocery store across the road.
Hotel close to the metro but not a good area. I would stay closer to the Danube River.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom England

very handy for sightseeing and S-Bahn and U-Bahn

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Position and accessibility to lots of restaurants.
Cons: Housekeeping and updating rooms.
First room offered had very small hanging space and 2 ladies find that impossible. New room had twice the small hanging room and the twin beds asked for. Not enough wall plugs for kettle or mobile recharge. Cables hanging across to reach plugs. Kettle had to be used in bathroom. Liquid soap container in bathroom did not work so self help was required as the tubes were new but had not been unplugged. To make allowances we were offered free breakfast for the 3 night stay. However the €18 for breakfast would have been very poor value. I stayed at the excelsior before but reburbishment seems not to have reached all rooms. Also I had never tried their breakfast. Not sure if I will go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hampshire

Great hotel in central Berlin

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Clean, tidy and modern
Location: Excellent location at a central train station
After arriving slightly early the kind receptionist booked us in (without the early check in fee!). We went to our very tidy and clean room which was well laid out although some would have liked more drawers (we were happy to live out of our suitcase). Check out was very easy and the gym had excellent equipment.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Leighton Buzzard. UK

Five days well spent in Berlin

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: The short journey from Tegel Airport. The room was clean and the staff were efficient and helpful.
Cons: The general appearance of the rooms. The décor looks tired and due for a makeover
Location: The hotel is close to the Zoologischer Garten Station where there is a bus terminus and connection to the U-bahn, S-bahn and Regional Express train.
I had read some of the previous reviews before travelling to Berlin and they tended to go from excellent to terrible. I would like to be objective and say that the hotel is in a very busy area where a lot of building work is going on. This is the case all over Berlin. My initial impression of the hotel was that it appeared very smart with its glass frontage on the ground floor and probably looked to be at least a 4*, but I am afraid that once we reached our room we were disappointed to see how small it was. It was somewhat strange to find that the TV was connected through a hidden extension lead to a socket and that another extension lead connected the bed-side lights. Berlin is a very good place for a history trip. We used all forms of transport available bus, tram, U-bahn, S-bahn and Regional Express (RE) . We enjoyed two very good cycle tours. One of which involved a return train journey to Potsdam. A trip to the Reichstag, free, both day and evening. You really need to register on-line before travelling. When eating out be sure to check you can pay by debit or credit card because unusually some quite sizeable restaurants, cafes and bars only take cash.