Ratings based on 503 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

High Standard Hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Access to internet for 30 minutes free per day (in room) and use of 3 computers in the lobby (sharing with all other guests)
Location: Close to the Zoo and transport systems. 30 minute bus from the airport (frequent and inexpensive) Close to the tour bus useful for first time visitors
The standard of the rooms was excellent. Cleaned every day to a high level. The facilities were good also. The hotel is very close to the Zoo and on a busy road. The cost of the stay was very good, so it was not unexpected that we would be facing the road. The noise of the traffic did die down after 10 o'clock.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Englanders

Very poor internet

Posted Aug 23, 2014
A fine hotel to stay in, except for the lack of decent free internet. On holiday for a short break being able to use the internet to plan days out would have been invaluable, however not in this hotel. That aside a nice if small room with kettle and a bath ,not things always available and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely room, great location

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff, subdued palette decor, large lobby/reception area.
Location: It's 5 minutes from Bahnhof Zoo, a major transportation hub for buses, S-Bahn and U-Bahn. There's also a BVG customer center near the U-Bahn platform.
I spent two weeks here, and the room (facing the back courtyard) was a pleasant and quiet refuge after each day out in Berlin.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good hotel near train station

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: The restaurant
Cons: Politeness of check in staff, not welcoming at all.
Location: Great location near rail station and tour buses
Booked this hotel room, a non smoking back in May for August/14 When we checked in they put us in a smoking room which of course had a terrible smell. After going to front desk to complain they said they did not have a non smoking room as they were fully booked.......do not understand all of this, first time this has happened in any hotel. We did get moved to a non smoking room the next day. Check in staff were rude, restaurant served great food and staff there great, also a good buffet breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lovely hotel -modern and very comfortable.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
We came to Berlin for the first time this July. This hotel was welcoming with a fantastic bar area, very relaxing for a night cap! We didn't use the spa but it looked great too. Excellent value for money. Very helpful and polite staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Good holiday

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Good hotel, well situated in the city. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was what you would expect of a business hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2014 by Marcus, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your good review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to welcome you again. Sincerely yours, Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel good location

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Great location and very good value for money, The only deficiency is lack of free wifi
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Cheap hotel close to city centre

Posted Jul 31, 2014
This hotel has been recently updated and is clean. The beds were clean and comfortable. The shower was okay but the temperature wasn't consistent. No wifi! The lobby signs say 30 minutes a day, but it is so slow you can't even get email. They sell more time, but what would be the point. I had to wait my turn for a desktop in the lobby (3).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from adelaide, south australia

Convenient, clean and comfortable

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Clean and tidy.
Cons: Ongoing wifi should be free of charge.
Location: The zoo, many old and historic buildings, zoo gardens.
Close to public transport, and many attractions within walking distance if you enjoy exercise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2014 by Marcus, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate your kind feedback and are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Sincerely yours, Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Central location friendly staff.

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Very happy with hotel. Excellent location could walk everywhere in the Mitte and the Ubahn and Sbahn were a 3 minute walk. Hotel staff were very friendly and the breakfast was delicious.