Ratings based on 407 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel within the city of Hamilton

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Loved our room with a balcony and beautiful view of the harbor; Loved the infinity pool
Cons: The main restaurant was very expensive and the food was not good. However, new restaurants are scheduled to open in a month or so No night life
Went for 3 nights with my adult daughter during April school vacation week- it was very relaxing, which is what she wanted as a teacher in a stressful job. The setting of the infinity pool and outdoor restaurant is exceptionally beautiful. Entire hotel staff unbelievably friendly and helpful. Not an issue for us, but might be for some- little to no night life.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Beautiful hotel, courteous staff, very pricey.

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: We loved the cleanliness and helpful staff.
Cons: Less expensive eating choices
This hotel is first class and close to downtown Hamilton and ferry. We were pleased with the staff and location. However, I think that for the price, wi-fi should be complimentary for all guests. I object to being charged $14.00 a day after paying over $400 a night. Secondly, there is a coffee shop in which we ate 2 mornings. By 9:00 it was already out of breakfast sandwiches both days. When we asked for a small cup of water so my Mom could take her pills, we were charged $0.50! Are you kidding me? This hotel may be business-friendly, but for someone without an "expense account" it is very pricey.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by Courtney B., Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your positive review of the service and your stay at Hamilton Princess. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here, but are disappointed to hear that you were not made aware of the complimentary wifi access when signing up for the complimentary Fairmont President's Club. We will make note of your concerns and be sure to tell the appropriate staff to make the recommended adjustments. We hope that these small difficulties don't deter you from visiting us again. We thank you so much again. Kind regards, Courtney Sales & Marketing Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun and enjoyable

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: pool & views
Location: Hamilton in walking distance
Fun and enjoyable Close to downtown Hamilton and Ferry
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2015 by Courtney, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your great experience with us at The Fairmont Hamilton Princess! Kind regards, Courtney Sales & Marketing Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Friendly staff, still being renovated

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Staff, location in city
Cons: Finish renovation; restore ferry service to Southampton (just canceled the week before we arrived).
Location: Easy walk to everything in Hamilton
The staff is extremely friendly, from the doorman to the front desk, to the concierge. The new Infinity Pool is quite nice. Although the wing where we stayed is very nice (Infinity Pool and 1609 Restaurant), some of the hotel is still under renovation (e.g., the lobby is empty - has a couple couches and bare walls). Probably will be nice when finished. It is also a bit of a maze to get around from the newer wing to the lobby. If you need to be in Hamilton (e.g., for business), this is a very nice hotel; but for a holiday, its sister hotel, the Fairmont Southampton would be a much better choice. Spectacular location and many more amenities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2015 by Courtney, Hotel Management
Dear Rick, Thanks so much for sharing your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the doormen, our front desk staff, and some of our current amenities. We are extremely excited to announce that our newer amenities, our private Princess Beach Club located on South Beaches and new water sports and activities will be launching May 24th, 2015. We hope that you will visit us again soon to experience new and fun memories with us again. Thank you again. Kind regards, Courtney Sales & Marketing Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Convenient to offices in Hamilton. Undergoing renovations, but still nice place to stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2015 by Courtney, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your kind review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess. We are happy to see that you were patient through our renovation process, and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Courtney Sales & Marketing Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Wonderful place to stay in Bermuda

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Location, bar/restaurant, resident cat.
Cons: Better insulation between the rooms would be nice - especially as they are in the process of renovations!
Location: The hotel is a short walk to Hamilton, which is full of shops and restaurants.
This was our first trip to Bermuda and we wanted to really enjoy a few days out of the New England snow and cold. We booked the Fairmont Hamilton Princess as part of a vacation package from Expedia. It was expensive but the reviews were excellent, so we paid up. The hotel was under construction and the heated pool was not open until our last day there, unfortunately. The room was very comfortable and clean, but we did notice that the walls are paper thin. If it were busy (it was very quiet as it was off-season) I think the noise from neighbors could be troublesome. Overall, though, our stay was very enjoyable and the staff and the1609 bar and restaurant were fabulous!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island, New York

Delightful Staff and So Convenient

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: as rental cars are not permitted on the island, the convenience of walking to shops and restaurants (so many!) was paramount.
my girl friends and I travelled to Bermuda recently (very convenient flight from both Toronto and NYC) to celebrate our upcoming 50th birthdays. Though we had never stayed at the Hamilton Princess we were greeted like long lost friends! The staff was truly exceptional and no question or request was too much trouble. I travel frequently and the Hamilton Princess was the epitome of service. I thought my friends' shared room was a little small but mine was perfect, and the patio was an added bonus. We are all members of the President's Club so perhaps the patio was an added perk; many rooms just have a small balcony or no balcony at all so it may be worth joining before you travel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Courtney B., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your delightful stay at The Fairmont Hamilton. We are pleased to learn that your stay was most enjoyable and that our hardworking staff helped make your experience even better. It's great that you've signed up for the President's Club, as you will now have access to exclusive amenities! Do come back soon, and we hope your friend had a very happy Birthday!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Convenient place to stay if you are in Hamilton on business
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Courtney B., Hotel Management
We appreciate your kind words provided about The Fairmont Hamilton Princess. We hope to welcome you back soon! Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Good Hotel, in need of an up-grade - great staff

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Great Staff - good location if you have a town rather than beach focus.
Cons: A rabbit warren of buildings, with a hodge-podge of decor - wayfinding is unclear- lost guests in the hallways.
Location: Shops, restaurants - some sight-seeing, including a lovely Anglican cathedral. Also, good for business travelers - near all office buildings
I went to get away from the extreme cold for a long weekend - going from 5 degrees to 72. This is a big old hotel, with a great staff - but in need of a serious face-lift and a good, consistent interior decorator. The interior work that has been done seems out of character with the style of the building and the hotel shops are stuck in the 70's. There are beautiful waterfront (not beach) views, comfortable rooms and it's in walking distance of Hamilton shops and restaurants. I highly recommend one of the restaurants "1609", but the other one seems to feature staff in training - warm, friendly but inept. Remember that this is a sub-tropical climate (just what I wanted), but don't expect a beach experience in February.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Courtney B., Hotel Management
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at The Hamilton Princess. We understand that you've noticed that we are in the process of a 90 million dollar renovation, and we thank you for your patience. So far, we have completed phase I and are just about to wrap up with phase II. Phase II (Spring 2015) includes tons of new and exciting upgrades, including Stunning New Guest Rooms, a Signature Restaurant by the Award Winning Chef - Marcus Samuelsson, a beautiful re-imagined Hotel Lobby Bar & Restaurant, a Public Modern Art Programme (featuring pieces from Andy Warhol, Damien Hirst & more), and we expect to get started on the exciting phase III renovations shortly after. We hope that you will give our new upgrades a second chance and visit with us again soon!