Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom london

Very dated very very

Posted May 25, 2015
The only good thing was that this place has a private beach and the ocean view is just amazing! The place is too dated, everything very old. The new owners dont want to do anything with place which is a shame as it use to be spectacular with jacuzzi, restaurant and a bar. Location is perfect too as you get Elbow beach 1,5 km away or the other way WRwich bay, national park and the mst famous beach Horsebeach beach :-)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to ocean

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Ocean view
Cons: Rust areas
Location: Great
Good needs some updates, the twin beds were pushed together, there was rust around the tub, the view was great of the ocean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

18 visits to SurfSide

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Gorgeous views, privacy, singing frogs, crashing waves, lovely landscaping, functional kitchen, great people.
Location: Excellent access to bus system. Beach was beautiful on this stay; when it isn't it's a short ride to excellent beaches. Very close to railway trail.
We've just returned from our 18th annual visit to SurfSide in Bermuda. The gorgeous views, beautiful landscape, natural peace & serenity are amazing. The staff are truly lovely people - they would love to restore the facility to it's full potential, but under the circumstances, they will make every effort to help you appreciate the real beauty of their privileged setting. You must be honest with yourself to make the best choice for your vacation: if "dated" furnishings and imperfect amenities would ruin your trip - you'd be happier in another setting. If the most beautiful, peaceful, private, natural ambiance on the island is your style - this is the place. We love it and we'll be back. Thanks Mrs. Harvey, Brian, and team - we love you and we love Bermuda.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nova Scotia, Canada

ABSOLUTE JOY !!!

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING and in particular, the friendly and accommodating staff. Also the convenient, central, un-rushed location.
Cons: Maybe a few gallons of exterior paint but, nothing major.
Location: SEE ABOVE: "OUR EXPERIENCE"
Not to bore anyone by writing a book, simply put, our 7 night stay was a truly enjoyable and relaxing JOY. We simply can not understand the negative reviews that we've seen here. Point by point, the following is our general findings: - Room maid service occurred daily at about 10 a m. and anything one desired was offered... Or if all you wanted was clean towels and an extra pillow, that was okay too. - Room in itself was spacious and comfortable... so the balcony door was a little stiff but, thankfully we survived (SARCASM !!) - I am an early riser, and every morning I would see flowers being watered, tiny pieces of litter being picked up, and an over-all "walk about inspection" taking place. On 3 mornings out of 7 I witnessed the pool being cleaned with some sort of vacuum / skimming machine. - Okay, the pool bar / restaurant closed 3 years ago... Get over it... "Swizzles Bar and Grill" 10 minute walk, Gas station / grocery / liquor store only 5 minute walk, and they have coffee / breakfast counter. Incidentally, your hotel room will have small fridge and cooking facilities. - The beach that WAS washed out by a hurricane IS BACK AND BEAUTIFUL. - Bus #7 passes the end of the driveway and will take you into Hamilton or (in opposite direction) to many other beaches en route to it's "dockyard" destination. - All hotel staff and local Bermudian citizens were friendly and helpful, beyond all expectations. - Final point: We had a loverrrrly week at a loverrrrly facility !!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Nice little beach, but no bar/lounge, no breakfast

Posted May 9, 2015
No bar or lounge where you can get a drink was a drag, no breakfast. Place needs major up-grading. Nice little beach but a hike to get there. Great views from balcony was a plus.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Outdated

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: View
Rust everywhere! No extras not even a bottle of water on arrival
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Haughley

Bermuda break

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Views
Cons: Complete refurbishment
Long overdue return to this beautiful island but somewhat disappointed by the accommodation. The bedroom had fantastic view and were extremely clean and spacious inside but the outside was in dire need of repair and redecoration, the pool looked as if it had not been cleaned for weeks, there were no dining or bar facilities at the apartments. It was a complex that was well past its best and could do with closing down and having a complete refurbishment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Amazing view

Posted Mar 25, 2015
We stayed in Suit with kitchen jointed with another. It's more like cottage. Amazing ocean view from the living/bed room. Just can't rate the beauty of the nature. Room and environtment is very clean and beautiful. The suit itself is old. Can be upgraded to new look. The service is nice. Very homely feeling. Staff are nice. Even let us check out late I will definitely go.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Beach lost to hurricane.

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: The location is fabulous with helpful staff and priceless views. It is a pleasure to wander through the meticulous gardens and see some treasures.
Cons: cleanliness and communication about the state of the beach.
Location: the beach (though currently missing) is a treasure. The hotel is a short scooter ride to all of bermuda's treasures.
surfside is by far my favourite place to stay in Bermuda. I was disappointed upon arrival to see that the beach had been washed away by Hurricane Gonzalo. I would have appreciated the hotel notifying me as I was planning a beach party. I have stayed at Surside many times, but for the first time it was not clean. The staff were still fantastic and very accommodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a lot of work..

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Price
Rooms a little run down. Not a bad place for price if you are just looking for a place to sleep.