Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable hotel in central Bern

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Convenient and Affordable
Cons: Directions and access from car parking to hotel.
Location: Wonderful historic city and lovely river with bear park on riverside. Altes Tramdepot provides very fine beer brewed on site with good food.
Second time I've stayed there. Rooms are basic but clean. Ground floor cafe is very convenient. Breakfast provides a good selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Warm and friendly hotel. Def great value for money

Posted Jul 31, 2014
The hotel is a short walk (5-7 mins) away from the train station, which is mighty convenient. If you're there for leisure, you can walk into the centre of the city very easily, or take the bus. The staff are warm and friendly - very genuine. Everyone speaks good English and German. The room is quite small, but certainly adequate, clean, well designed and modern. For those with continental adaptors, the room's bedside plus are 'flat' so you don't have to buy a Swiss adaptor. The WiFi was very reliable and fast within the room. Breakfast was good - cereals, fruit, croissants, ham, cheese, salmon and scrambled eggs buffet. If you're from the UK and only understand English however, the hotel TV doesn't have BBC News - only MTV and CNN available. Overall, I thought it was fantastic value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Harry from London

Useful hotel at reasonable cost.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Easy to find, clean, pleasant helpful staff. We rented a car from Zurich airport so the direct access from a public car park was very helpful.
Cons: One small pillow each, and could not print boarding pass from their computer.
Location: Bus, tram or trolleybus, all very quiet, but only 10 minute walk to old city and lots to see from the Cathedral to Einstein's home. Must see bears.
If a clean adequate hotel, reasonably near to the centre is required at modest cost the Ador (Bern, Switzerland) will do the job perfectly well. It was easy to find from the airport, there is garage parking with direct access to the hotel and a ten minute walk will take you into the old city. The room was small but clean with adequate facilities. Breakfast with a good range of food available each day, including weekend, 6.0 to 10 or 10.30. Plenty of restaurants close by or within easy walking reach. Staff were all helpful and polite. The city itself -a very long time since I was last there-- is delightful. Relaxing just to wander, say Hi to the bears, admire the amusing statues and have coffee. Maybe go to a concert as we did. High quality shops, Prada to chocolate, chocolate, chocolate ......
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Unhappy from canada

Pricey, but excellent hotel

Posted May 19, 2014
We absolutely needed a place like this - it was a GREAT hotel, though a little pricier than it should be. Staff were beyond expectations helpful with everything! Really enjoyed our stay. Rooms were perfectly adequate by european standards. $20 cheaper per night and I'd say a real winner. Breakfast was great, hotel so clean, bathroom with all the goodies, felt very modern, and the staff helped us figure out Bern (a great city!!!).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Hong from Singapore

review on hotel ador

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
service was excellent and room was clean. wifi coverage was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by traveller86 from Singapore

Comfortable hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was small but well-equipped. Would stay here again if we come back to Bern.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by James from Sydney

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel. A few minutes walk to station. Good breakfast. With kettle and tea! Highly recommended for short stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jan from Singapore

Great location

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good location and service...room too small and no air condition in spring time, had to open window but noisy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marcbrs from Bristol

Superb

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Superb hotel - loved it Great value