Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Enjoyed the city of Bern

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Staff were helpful, breakfast was good. Room quite satsfactory.
Cons: Air conditioning for the hot summer wather we encountered.
Location: Visited the city where there are a number of places to see. The funicular railway was a great experience and the views amazing
Easy to get around the city especially with the free travel card.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from Cairns Australia

Handy Position well priced.

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Hotel is basic but comfortable and clean. Helpful front desk staff and a nice breakfast. It is only 50 metres to the tram stop and a 5-10 minute ride to the train station and city centre. Bern is quite a beautiful and friendly city and well worth spending a night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent experince

Posted Dec 17, 2013
The staff was polite and helpful, The hotel was properly located , with clean rooms and bathrooms. The breakfast was good. Good Wifi service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from New Zealand

Exceeded expectations

Posted Sep 21, 2013
This goal is at the cheaper end of the scale for Bern (although of course all hotels are expensive in Switzerland) so I was pleasantly surprised to see that it was very nice. The room was modern with a comfortable bed, the receptionists were helpful and spoke perfect English, the breakfast buffet was nice - no complaints at all. It was easy to walk into town each day, including to the train station (though if you have a lot of luggage, taking a tram might be better).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lew from Aliso Viejo, CA, USA

Great Hotel in a great neighborhood.

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Pros: Location
Located in a quite neighborhood, Staff was great, place was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A real find in Bern

Posted Jun 8, 2013
Pros: The immaculate condition of the hotel, good space in the room, very helpful staff.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Very quiet and only a few minutes from the old town and train station.
Hotel Waldhorn is a real find in Bern. I reserved a room there because hotels in the city center were all booked for the dates we needed. Had I known the quality of this hotel, I wouldn't have bothered looking in the center of town. It is in a very quiet district. The room and bathroom are a good size, immaculately clean with adequate space. Breakfast is in the breakfast room in the basement. Nice though not large selection with Ovaltine among the drink selections (as in many Swiss hotels). The breakfast buffet and wi-fi internet were included in the price we paid. The staff was very helpful, particularly with telling us how to get to a nearby self-service laundry which was a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Old-town Bern is a 20 minute walk or a 10 minute bus or tram ride from the hotel, so the location presented no problem whatever with getting around. The main train station is a 10 minute taxi ride away. All in all, an excellent location and a hotel I strongly recommend. When we next go to Bern, we'll stay at the Waldhorn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great value for your money!

Posted Feb 11, 2013
This hotel was extremely clean and the breakfast was free and very good!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hilary from Manchester, UK

small but functional

Posted Jul 12, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Lack of air conditioning
Location: Ideal for a quiet stay, but still walking distance from the old town and on a convenient bus route.
A modern hotel on the inside, but covered with scaffolding on the outside. We were woken up by workmen outside our window one morning (we were on the third floor.) The room was small, but functional, but would have benefited from air conditioning. The breakfast buffet was plentiful. The location was good. Quiet, but walking distance from town. A nice walk down through the rose garden to the bears, and an easy walk home from the town centre along the bus route (bus No. 9)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Assyrian from San Francisco, CA

Nice place

Posted May 12, 2011
Very nice clean place, not very pricy. Recommend to go and try
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Montagnola, Switzerland

Quality hotel in Bern

Posted Jan 22, 2011
If you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel and don't mind being a 5 minute tram ride outside of Old Town, the Waldhorn is a good choice. Like most Swiss hotels, the room was clean and small, but not cramped. The breakfast bar had the usual fare -- bread, cheese, cereal/granola, hard boiled eggs, and deli meats. I didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel as there is much to do in Bern (including the rose garden and bears, which are within a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel). However, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom had plenty of light and hot water.