Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Northeastern Tennessee

Simply Charming!

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The Victorian charm and service.
Cons: I gave a 4 rating to facilities simply due to the stairs creaky floors but don't change a thing! It completely adds to the ambiance.
Location: In Bernardsville across from rail station allowing access to NYC while staying in a quaint township near multiple historical sites like Valley Forge.
I have traveled and stayed at many hotels with much higher room rates and would rate Bernard's Inn amongst the best. If you like a hotel that gives you the feeling of staying at a Victorian mansion as a guest of the owner, this is the place for you. From the decor to the slightly slanted and creaky stairs, you definitely get the feeling of being in a historical building. These are not criticisms as much as trying to convey the charm of the place. The bar and adjacent dining room is just as warm and comfortable let alone the very tasty dinner menu. The food quality and service were superb from the Venison Carpaccio to the Crème Brule. Unfortunately, I did not sample the wine cellar but suspect it to be good by comparison.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grass Valley CA

Beautiful and charming

Posted Feb 13, 2015
This was for a business trip and I would love to stay there on a romantic get away. The room I had did have some noise from the train out front and some traffic noise. And, overall a great experience with excellent food and a beautiful , historic facility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom PA

One night stay

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Quaint well run historic hotel with excellent staff good restaurant a bit pricy The noise from being in center of town and next to train station was part of the the experience I didn't mind it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Susan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Allenfrom Peacham, VT

Comfortable nostalga!

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Service and comfort were delightful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas TX

Charming period hotel with a fine restaurant

Posted Nov 2, 2014
The Bernards Inn is notable for its exceptional restaurant and in comparison to other Somerset county hotels; it's convenient to transportation, fairly quiet, a good value, comfortable, with an Anglophile decor and pleasant staff. On this visit, the bathroom was small, with no vanity and minimal shelf space; the shower tile needed refreshing. That said, I'd stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Davefrom Virginia

Great place...not so great appliances...

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved the place and the location. Elegant room...but outdated TV that didn't work and the shower was like standing under a dripping faucet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by njvisitorfrom Canada

Nice with some rough edges

Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall it was good - a charming hotel with great staff. I was there for business but wished I was there for a romantic weekend given the relaxing atmosphere and charming town. A couple of issues - the door did not latch on its own. Twice the cleaners left it ajar. To me security is a show stopper so given that I informed the front desk on the first instance having it happen again is a no go for me and i would not return. Second the shower water cut in and out - not pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Bernard's Inn

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Bernard is just a lovely experience all the way around.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

No elevator

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Old B&B charm, but building and rooms require some renovation. Airconditioner/heater wasn't working, magnifying mirror in the bathroom is installed in the awkward location (hihg in the wall) so couldn't use it, no vanity table to put things on in the bathroom, electric outlet was loose. Fresh baked cookies, artisan chocolate, water, fruit each night, etc. were pleasant treats for the stay.