Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by JJ from DC

All night workin on the railroad

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: It's quaint
Cons: Everything
Location: Great for freight buffs. You can. Lunt every box car
Those of you who love "my cousin vinny" will relate to the experience of trying to sleep across the street from a railroad that not only runs all night, but has grade level crossings with gates that come down, bells that ring, and diesel locomotive horns that blow. The hotel is certainly quaint.. 3 feet of floor space on either side of my quaint queen bed with the paper thin blanket (oh, there is no way to control the heat in the room), a quaint electrical system within a single outlet near the desk or nightstand, unless you unplu the lamps, quaint plumbing, where hot water is optional, and quaint staff that laughs as you schlep your bags up and down 3 flights of stairs -- too quaint for an elevator. Motel Six is a better night's sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Thomas Murhoy from San Diego, Ca

Bernards Inn - New Jersey

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very much enjoyed my stay. Old World hotel (lots of mahogany walls but very beautiful- nice shower and very comfortable room). Staff was excellent and the restaurant top notch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ADG

Great Alternative...

Posted Nov 12, 2013
...to the larger and stunningly priced corporate hotels in the area. I routinely do business in the area and have stayed at every major chain hotel up and down the 287/78/80 corridor. God bless the Parsipanny Hilton and the Bridgewater Marriott for commanding Manhattan Upper East Side prices for a night's stay. The Bernard's Inn is a great alternative. It's homey and quaint without being as sparse re amenities as a mom and pop bed and breakfast. It's more than adequate and the big draw for me is the restaurant. Cocktails and dinner at the bar. Elegant and high-touch compared to the predictable hotel dining options that a road weary consultant like me gets tired of.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Very cool, old school.

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
very short stay, but comfortable, clean - I'll be back next time out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Joe V from Floridia

A quiet pleasant Inn with room for improvement

Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Location convenient . Decor nice. Staff was fine. Room 18 was small for a queen size bed. Ar-moire was beat up with pieces of veneer missing from front. TV had been removed from area meant for it. Back wall where TV used to be was visible with several holes in back where cables used to go. A TV, too small for the room had been installed on plywood in area above where the TV used to be, making it too high to be viewed straight on from the bed, which was only place you could watch it from. This part was 2*.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff from Cape Cod

Excellent value, superb bar & restaurant

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Clean, quiet, charming. Dedication to excellent service. Hotel has preserved its historic status. Really couldn't have been a better stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by MS Wil from Atlanta

Very close to Verizon

Posted Aug 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Hotel is perfect for any visit to Verizon Wireless HQ. It is few miles away. The room was clean, and the style very europeran
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Somerset Hills Golf course

Posted Jul 18, 2013
Very pleasant experience. Courteous staff. Good restaurant.