Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by guilia from Berkeley, CA, USA

good enough hotel with a great restaurant....

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: I liked the restaurant and the proximity to the rail station and to the lifts.
Cons: the area itself felt outdated, dusty, and touristy. However, the hotel itself is clean and comfortable..
Location: Location is close to railroad terminal and public transit....One can easily hop on public transit to see the sites or to connect with hiking trails.
No complaints...comfortable and close to lifts. Area is undergoing construction so the view is obstructed and there is noise and dust.... By 2015 that should no longer be a concern....the traffic in area distracts from the natural beauty of the immediate area...The hotel was quiet as I had a back room and very comfortable...Reception was not real helpful or welcoming....but, there are a lot of tourists and the local vs tourist is a reality at resorts of this sort...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gerhard from Sydney, AU

Easy to get to, nice to stay at

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: Proximity to train station Staff Heating
Location: Jungfraubahn (from train station) First cablecar and First flyer (10 minutes walk) Outside (scenery is fantastic as soon as you step out the door)
Central Hotel Wolter is less than 5 minutes walk from the train station at Grindelwald, a bonus as we arrived by train. Despite arriving rather early for check-in, the friendly staff informed us our room was actually ready. We did not pay for a mountain-view room so no views of Jungfrau could be found out our window, that didn't worry us though as the room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The restaurant downstairs was just as enjoyable and the staff were more than accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by M Hindmarch from New York

Reasonable, Convenient and Clean

Posted Aug 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Located conveniently in town next to the bus and train station and close to the grocery store. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly and easily accessible. My room also had a nice balcony looking over the town. The location allowed access to many of the hiking trails in the area either directly by foot, gondola or via the postbus or train.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by GK and EC from Canberra, Australia

Good value, well-located hotel

Posted May 17, 2013
Location: Close to both town centre and train station.
A clean, comfortable and generally quiet hotel. It is well located, close to both town centre and train station. The restaurant serves a range of foods from local specialities to snacks and is reasonably priced. Paying extra for a room with a view of the Eiger is definitely worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Morrelli from Lancashire, UK

Wolter, Grindlewald

Posted Sep 17, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Size of the room
Location: 2 minutes walk from the station, which is great at the end of a day's hiking
Our room was small, with the wash basin in the room as the bathroom was only big enough for a shower and toilet. It was comfortable and clean enough though and the views from the little balcony were wonderful - it just all feels rather old, small and dark if you were to be spending a week rather than the 1 night we were there and intended to spend time in your room in the evenings. The breakfast is good, the staff efficient and friendly, and it is only steps from the train station, which more than makes up for the size and decor of the rooms. We didn't try the restaurant this time but when there half board some years ago, the food was excellent in both variety and quality
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Joan from Palmdale,CA

fully relaxing hotel

Posted May 8, 2009
we live in the end of the hall, So we couldn't pick up the wireless signal, we had to go to the lobby to use internet. it's not privately convenient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK, expensive for what it is

Posted Jul 23, 2008
Good service, small rooms, expensive for the room size
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cedarhurst, NY

A True Alpine Lodge Experience

Posted Aug 26, 2007
Located in the center of town. Across from train station with great restaurants/shopping. Staff was very courteous and knowledgeable. Modern hotel with typical Swiss lodge feel. Lots of wood. Balcony overlooked the town and the imposing mountains in the distance. Take advantage of some of the freebies the hotel entitles you to such as the aquatic center down the road. Nice after a day of hiking!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

NO VIEW and linoleum floors--looked out to back yard!

Posted Jul 11, 2007
Here we were in a town in the middle of the most spectacular views of the Alps. We booked a "superior" room instead of a "standard" room so that we would get "the best" and had to walk through the back alley to get to our room, it had no carpet, and NO VIEW, even though most of their rooms faced the Alps, we did not get one of these rooms. We had booked ahead but to no avail. The staff was very nice and spoke English. Breakfast at least was in room with view and very nice for continental breakfast. If you stay here, make sure you email them that you want a room facing the street with mountain views of the Alps! Hotel is centrally located in town.