Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lila & Jim from Christchurch, NZ

Fantastic Hotel!

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing!!
Very good location,walking distance to main attractions in Meiringen. The room was fantastic, modern, clean and had all the amenities required. Very personal touches such as a welcome note and complimentary fresh fruit in the room. We had dinner in the Bistro which was first class cuisine and very reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was also excellent. Probably the best hotel we have stayed at!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2014 by Franziska, Hotel Management
Dear Lila and Jim Thank you very much for your great feedback! It was a pleasure to have you here. We're wishing you all the best, Your hosts, Franziska & Simon Anderegg
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Most hospitable

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Went in October (slightly off-season) and they upgraded us for free!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Barbara from Cornwall U.K.

Lovely convenient Hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: We really couldn't fault the Hotel.
Cons: As far as we were concerned nothing needed improving.
Location: Excellent location 5 minutes from the railway station, Sherlock Holmes,museum is right across the road, and the falls a short bus ride, very quiet.
This Hotel was only a 5 minute walk from the railway station, right in the middle of town. The staff were very helpful and the room was excellent, not too large that it becomes impersonal breakfast was very good , and the restaurant was very unexpected, such good quality with an Asian theme ate there every night, would really recommend it, although a bit pricey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jay

Beautiful design.

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Pros: Internal design.
Location: It is located in the center of town. It is10 minutes away from the Aareschlucht beautiful gorge. Don't miss it.
The hotel is beautifully and simply designed. It was a please to stay there. The location is excellent the food is good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sue from North East England

Food lovers and Holmes fans wil love this hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2013
Pros: food
Cons: rain
Location: centre of town with free carparking
The hotel is central and opposite the Sherlock Holmes museum -well worth a visit-and fortunate for us as it rained constantly. From the bedroom window we could also see the famous Falls where Holmes fell to his death whilst struggling with his enemy. The hotel was very welcoming, with coffee and refreshments available all day in the lobby. The staff were multi lingual and most helpful. But the best bit of all was the fabulous food. We ate in the restaurant-there is a bistro available-and while the food was pricey it was well worth the money. The chef/owner came to ask how we found the food and gave the impression that he really cared.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Artivati from Lincolnshire, UK

Excellence all round

Posted May 15, 2013
Pros: My review probably says it all
Cons: Having to leave
Location: Perfect
The Victoria Hotel seemed good enough just in the quality promised by the photography... but sometimes this can be misleading. But not when it comes to the Victoria Hotel! This hotel is, in one word, SUPERB. It isn't a big hotel (20-24 rooms at a rough guess) and each is appointed to the very highest standards. This hotel is a must for all Sherlock Holmes fans as the view from most of the rooms is of either the Reichenbach Falls (the Reichebachfall-Bahn train station within walking distance) or the small Sherlock Holmes museum (with bronze statue of a seated Sherlock Holmes immediately outside it) just across the road from the hotel! The food, in breadth of menu, its quality, the presentation and taste was excellent. The chef was also the manager, so the highest possible standards is of the greatest importance to him. The staff are highly knowledgeable in both terms of the menu and what to see in the locality. On arrival we found a beautifully presented bowl of fruit in our room, and thereafter fresh fruit was always freely available in the tastefully-appointed guests lounge on the ground floor. Each room was equipped with a television with a world-wide range of both TV and radio channels available. For those driving to the hotel there is plenty of parking available. And anyone arriving by train... the small railway station is just across the street with a direct link with both the national railway service (Luzern, for example) and many of the nearby towns/villages.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ann from Maine

convenient to railroad but quiet

Posted May 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Owners and staff were extremely helpful..everything about our stay was just great. The rooms were exceptionally clean. The breakfast buffet was very good and we also ordered a hot breakfast at no extra charge. The staff was very helpful in our day planning. The Rail station is just a short walk away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

close to shopping and thr RR

Posted Sep 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
Awesome. Food was expensive but 5 star. Breakfast was especially good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel Victoria - cool restaurant & bar, tiny rooms

Posted Aug 4, 2011 on Hotels.com
The restaurant and bar of this hotel have been refurbished in a very modern and stylish way. The restaurant does great food and the breakfast buffet was impressive with some cooked-to-order hot options included in the price. We stayed in the most basic room, which was tiny although perfectly functional. The shower room contained the toilet but the only handbasin was in the bedroom which some people might not like if you don't want your roommate watching you shave or clean your teeth. The hotel is about 1 minute walk from Meiringen train station, so very central. The spa is not actually in the hotel but is somewhere a couple of minutes walk away so we were put off from going there because it seemed too much hassle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Will be going back

Posted Oct 19, 2007
A lovely small hotel with fantastic food. Nothing was too much trouble. I thought being next to the station may be a bit noisy but I had no problem at all.