Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A. Alvarez from Washington, DC

Lovely hotel

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a wonderful hotel that served as our base for our Swiss week long vacation. It's a 7 minute walk to the train station, room was amazing (we upgraded to the suite and had the most magnificent view of the south side of Eiger). The staff was phenomenal, recommendations every day and they even had the flambé class for just the two of us. Thank you! The only downfall was that there was not one english speaking channel on TV, not that we were in the room much but that would have been nice. Otherwise excellent hotel with great staff and the breakfast was great too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by kathy from hilton head

beautiful spot

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed in the hotel during the off-season. Found it to be lovely with a great view of the Eiger. Great gym and nice breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel By the Eigar

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: ideal location, good facilities and excellent food.
Cons: no
Location: Potentially a lot during the right time of year, nothing during the wrong time unless you are a walker as locals are on holiday.
Long weekend break in a beautiful village but wrong time of year. Visited unbeknown to us that there is a change over from ski season to summer season where the majority of activities are closed as are the local shops and hotels. If I wasn't an enthusiastic walker I would be limited to staying in the Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from Chalfont St Giles, UK

Lovelly views of the Eiger, great Spa

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Watching avalanches fall down the North Face of the Eiger from the comfort of a sun lounger outside the Sweedish sauna. Amazing. Also amazing staff who looked after my wife, I and our little one so well. Thank-you Christian, you made breakfast very special for Arthur.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great views of Eiger

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Great room, clean hotel, pricey restaurant. Good location near First Bahn and easy walk to station and shops etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by HB from Lucerne, Switzerland

Romantic skiing weekend for couple

Posted Feb 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
A great experience from start until finish! We arrived early and due to it being the Wengen downhill weekend the hotel was of course fully sold out. But even arriving too early for our room to be ready (and parking being full) the hotel manager Grit made sure that their staff would find parking for our car and we could use SPA changing rooms to switch to skigear and enjoy a full day in the slopes. We stayed in one of the larger deluxe double rooms with balcony and mountain view. Good alpine standard - not luxury but definitely nice with a chalet feeling to the room. After a day's skiing and watching the Lauberhornrennen we spent a few relaxing hours in the pool and saunas. Clean and nice SPA and not particularly busy even though the hotel was full. We enjoyed a really good dinner at the restaurant Adlerstube in the hotel. Reservation needed. They also have a second restaurant which has a set menu for a very reasonable price. The Adlerstube had excellent offerings; traditional Swiss and European dishes some with a slightly modern twist to them. Breakfast was standard or slightly above standard for a 4-5 star alpine hotel with large buffet, omelet station etc. – good food and very friendly staff. The hotel really was perfect for our romantic weekend skiing in Grindelwald and we really appreciated all the staff's efforts to make our stay really nice and make best use of our time with high flexibility for using ski room, parking etc. We are definitely planning to return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Christina from Kansas City

Beautiful setting, nice hotel, but slightly shabby

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Couldn't get much nicer views. The Sunstar was comfortable except for the very flat pillow (only 1 per bed). Carpets could use replacing and a general revamp, but everything was clean. Rooms and especially the bathrooms were spacious. The free minibar was a nice touch. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The staff was polite and spoke English well, but not very helpful with figuring out how to get around. I had trouble getting email responses before the trip and had trouble upon checkout with getting the price I was expecting, but finally managed to get it worked out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jason from Boston

Feeling good in Grindelwald

Posted Jul 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
I'd recommend Sunstar Grindelwald to any adult on vacation in the Swiss Alps. Right across the street from gondola to First and ten mins walk to Grindelwald main rail station. The front desk, spa, and restaurant staff were so helpful! Beautiful views from the solarium, really unique and relaxing Roman Irish spa. Nude area unique... Maybe use a towel to be polite and modest but very nice facility. Outstanding breakfast buffet. Reasonably priced for Switzerland hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2012 on Hotels.com