Ratings based on 631 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable older hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Location: Within walking distance to NIH and many local restaurants.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were comfortable and adequate though not spacious if traveling with more than one child. Free shuttle service to local sites was efficient.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for personal travel

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Close to family.
Cons: Upgrade business center computer.
Location: About a 15 minute walk to Metro. Many good restaurants near by.
Clean rooms. Rooms a bit small, but since visiting family near by, we did not spend much time in room. Staff pleasant and helpful. WiFi not working while we were there and business centers sole computer was still running Windows XP. Breakfast was average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: friendly helpful staff, clean room, convenient location
comfortable and affordable. Nice staff. good location. rooms a bit small.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom seattle wa

Not as good as the photos

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Parking is extremely limited. We had to park a block away at meters. They promised to feed them and they did, but it was unsettling. Despite having prepaid took a long time to find our room. No elevator to our room so we had to haul luggage up a flight. Also we were told we'd be in the annex so that we could control our temp. That's not standard?
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Cheap stay in Bethseda.

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Location, Location, Location
Cons: Need more tables available to eat the breakfast on.
It's the best price around if you don't mind everything not being perfect. The hot water didn't work one morning, but was taken care of in an hour or so. The staff was nice and the room was clean but really small.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

party and drug activities were going on

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: It sucks
Cons: nothing well be done to improve according to the reviews posted by previous clients. It is useless
Location: boring place to stay. nothing you can do. The only thing good is if you are visiting NIH but there are some other hotels near by. So don't book it.
the room next to us was having a party and there were at least 8 university like boys and girls. They were talking, laughing and slamming the door so loudly. There were drinking and doing substance I believed. I called and went to the front desk twice and was told nothing could be done. I had to knock on the door and yell to the guys to lower down their voice. I almost called 911 to intervene. I didn't sleep all night and asked the front desk to check me out early. It is horrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2015 by Darryl Calloway, Hotel Management
I apologize for the inexcusable behavior of the these guests. I can only imagine how frustrating it must have been to experience this and not to have it resolved by our staff. I have re-assessed our protocols to ensure that our staff is properly trained and equipped to handle similar situations. It is our policy that every guest is entitled to the quiet comfort and use our hotel and amenities. Any disturbances should be addressed quickly to minimize the impact to our guests. Again, I am sorry for the difficulties you had. I realize this doesn't change your experience. However, rest assured that we have identified the problem and are working to ensure it doesn't happen again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winston Salem , NC

good location

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: cleanliness and staff
Cons: Parking
Location: Wonderful location, good shopping and eating establishments
The hotel stay was wonderful except for the parking situation. However, front desk staff was extremely helpful in assisting me with the parking situation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2015 by Darryl, Hotel Management
I'm glad to hear that you found our staff to be helpful. I hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
I am a disabled Vet, I was on the 5th floor, the elevator wasn't working.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2015 by Darryl Calloway, Hotel Management
I'm sorry to hear about the problem you experienced with the elevator. We dispatched a technician to resolve the issue as soon as it was discovered. However, I know how frustrating it must have been for you during the outage. Thank you for your business and we appreciate your service to our country.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Poorly Managed Hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Toilet didn't flush. Sink didn't work. Luke warm Shower. Carpet was very wet at the bathroom. Couldn't control the temperature in the room. It was unpleasantly hot. I do not recommend this hotel. Very limited parking too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2015 by Darryl Calloway, Hotel Management
I'm sorry to hear that you experienced so many problems during your last stay with us. Hopefully we were able to respond to the maintenance issues you experienced in a timely manner. I can understand how frustrating it must have been to have problems with the water. Also, I apologize for the problems with the temperature in the room. We try to maintain a comfortable environment for our guests. However, with 30 to 40 degree temperature swings that we can experience in the transitional Spring months, it can difficult to maintain a constant temperature. I regret these challenges and assure you that we are always working to ensure the comfort of all our guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia PA

weekend trip to DC

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: I like the price compared to the hotels in DC or others in the Bethesda area. The free breakfast was great with a nice selection of foods.
Cons: Just a consideration a is the parking - there is not much free parking and spaces available on a first come/first serve basis.
Location: Metro is close by and gets you to all the DC sights. Also went into Bethesda and walked around.
I would recommend this hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable and simple. It was an easy walk to the metro stop to get into DC. The hotel restaraunt Guapos was delicious but there are many places to eat in Bethesda. I saw the pool but it was not open yet since it was only spring - but it looked like a nice size and if we come in the summer will be nice for the kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2015 by Darryl, Hotel Management
Thanks for your comments. We look forward to your next stay.