Ratings based on 405 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Israel

Old hotel being refurbished

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Cons: Temporary closure during work.
The hotel is being refurbished and partially closed. During the day there is considerable noise from the building works. Breakfast is served in a temporary and unsuitable location. It is very basic and limited, yet expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Pavan, Hotel Management
Dear Sorel, Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate it. We are in the midst of our construction. We certainly hope that on your next visit, you will choose to stay with us with our new amenities and new look of our hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Watertown, NY

Don't book here !

Posted Jul 12, 2014
My family travelled to DC for my daughters graduation from the DC police academy this past weekend. We travelled 7 hours from northern NY and had booked a room on Expedia about 2 weeks ago.We got there at 10:00 pm exhausted and ready to get some sleep and I went to check in and was told there were not any rooms available!! Are you kidding me??? They had my reservation but not a room for us! How does that happen? They said they were putting us up at the Hampton for the first night and I can come back for the next 2 nights. Who wants to repack your stuff and go to another hotel?? What happens if they do not have a room available again? What was suppose to be an exciting weekend turned into a mess! Of course the manager was not there and won't be in till Monday. I have asked for my money back for that night and was told not to worry about it. Needless to say we continued our stay at the Hampton and it was awesome. Who screwed up there? Wyndham or Expedia??
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by Pavan, Hotel Management
Dear Jill, On behalf of Wyndham garden Hotel, kindly accept our sincere apologies for not being able to provide you the high standard of hospitality which is the general norm of our hotel. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you because of this. We apologize for the miscommunication and error on the availability of room nights. We are currently going through a massive renovation of our hotel, to service our guests in the future. We certainly hope you will give us the opportunity to be of service to you in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Worst ever!!!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Price…it was cheaper than it herd in the area
Cons: A staff that seemed interested in its customers…a cleaner room…and honesty when the hotel is not at its best.
ABSOLUTELY NO mention that the hotel was undergoing renovations until after check-in. Renovations started promptly at 8:00Am and continued throughout the day. Staff at the desk was totally unsympathetic and could not care less. Website SHOULD let potential customers know ahead of time that they will be inconvenienced!! Common courtesy when you are in the service industry. Apparently, Wyndham is not in the forefront of the service industry….just bottom line.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2014 by Pavan, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, Thank you for taking the time to complete this on expedia survey. It is only as a result of people like you that we are able to review our product quality and overall service. We are in the midst of renovating our hotel exterior and the project will continue into the spring. We do this for the overall aesthetic beauty for all of our customers. I apologize that you found the exterior unacceptable. It is work in progress and it is a necessary process to maintain our hotel. I am sorry, that you were not aware of our property being under renovation, we have made every effort possible to let all booking channels be aware that we are under renovations, however they have been late in updating their websites. I truly hope we can be of service to you again in the very near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Cons: Overall finish and appearance. Need to have more than 1 crib for customer use!!
Too much construction, too dirty. Elevators didn't work well, lobby was small, unkept, and wasn't attractive in appearance. Too few parking spots, no vending machines, and no gym.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2014 by Pavan, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate it. We are in the midst of our construction. We certainly hope that on your next visit, you will choose to stay with us with our new amenities and new look of our hotel. We should be able to showcase our new look to all our guests by spring of 2015
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nancy from Rochester, NY

Great Value!

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: The linens were clean and the comforter was fluffy. Nice comfortable beds!
Cons: Nothing
Location: The hotel was in a nice safe area. A little far from D.C.(30-40 minutes on the interstate) but worth it.
We chose this hotel because of the price , location and pictures. We were not disappointed. We were warmly greeted by staff that seemed happy to work there. After a long day in the car we were relieved to enter a room that was air conditioned and clean. The building was currently under renovation in the floor above us, but did not affect us. Our room was already updated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2014 by Pavan, Hotel Management
Dear Nancy, Thank you for letting us know, about your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate it. We are in the midst of our construction. We certainly hope that on your next visit, you will choose to stay with us with our new amenities and new look of our hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Our stay was for one night. The stay was fine. It would have been helpful if we had known that the hotel was undergoing a renovation including the drive in front of the lobby. Since we have to use a handicap parking space it made the unloading of our luggage a bit more difficult.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2014 by Pavan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for Kind words. I will be sure to share your comments with the team here. We pride ourselves on excellence in service and I am glad that we were able to have you as our guest. Our doors are always open, so when travel next brings you to the Gaithersburg area, please allow us to be your host again.
2 out of 5
by Rich from Buffalo, NY

Hotel is being renovated

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Room was good size and beds were full size and comfortable.
Cons: It would be nice to have a refrigerator in the room.
Location: There is a shopping mall just down the street. Easy access to route 355 and 270
The lobby and our room were actually very nice but there is no access to the exercise facility since that is undergoing renovation. Once the hotel is renovated then it should be very nice. I think we should have been told about the renovation before booking or given the option to opt out.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2014 by Pavan, Hotel Management
Dear Rich, Thank you for letting us know, about your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate it. We have made every effort possible to let all travel website be aware of our construction and when we are looking to complete this process, and also what facilities are closed during the renovation. Unfortunately we are not able to control, when they are able to submit this to their customers when booking on these websites. We are in the midst of our construction. We certainly hope that on your next visit, you will choose to stay with us with our new amenities and new look of our hotel.
1 out of 5
by M from rockville, pa

Run down property

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: The rate was affordable but only because of discounted rate.
Cons: Everything needs improvement.
Location: Close to expressway.
The hotel is in terrible disrepair, and the impact of ongoing renovation only adds to the shabby look. Room furniture is worn, elevator is beaten up. Front desk staff were not very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2014 by Pavan, Hotel Management
Dear M, Thank you for letting us know, about your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate it. We are in the midst of our construction. . I apologize that you found the interior/exterior unacceptable. It is work in progress and it is a necessary process to maintain our hotel. I truly hope we can be of service to you again in the very near future. We certainly hope that on your next visit, you will choose to stay with us with our new amenities and new look of our hotel.
2 out of 5
by Ian from UK

Middle of nowhere hotel

Posted May 5, 2014
Cons: Customer service. One of the worst I've seen in the US. So it's quite a shock and unusual. The management needs a shake up I think.
Location: The Dogfish Head Alehouse is the saving grace. Good food and (if you're into ales) a wide range. Honorary mention to Buffalo Wings though.
I didn't like this hotel. It really is isolated with nothing nearby. They do have a local shuttle service but it's very unreliable so you can end up waiting a long time. The front desk in the evening has a feeling of "not interested".
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2014 by Pavan, Hotel Management
Dear Ian We are so sorry you were not satisfied with our stay at the Wyndham garden hotel. Thank you so much for bringing this unfortunate happenstance to our attention. Please let me know or email me, what we could have done better. I wish I could have spoken with you while you were staying here with us and could have rectified our deficiencies. We assure you we are doing everything we can to rectify this situation and to make sure it does not happen again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2014 by Pavan, Hotel Management
Dear Ian, We are so sorry you were not satisfied with our stay at the Wyndham garden hotel. Thank you so much for bringing this unfortunate happenstance to our attention. Please let me know or email me, what we could have done better. I wish I could have spoken with you while you were staying here with us and could have rectified our deficiencies. We assure you we are doing everything we can to rectify this situation and to make sure it does not happen again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good choice on your way thru

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Got it as an unpublished Hotel deal. Hotel was currently under construction. Pool not available (although I could have used the one in a neighboring hotel). Location unspectatcular but withn 45 minutes of DC. Room was clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2014 by Pavan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for letting us know, about your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate it. As you are aware, We are in the midst of our construction. We certainly hope that on your next visit, you will choose to stay with us with our new amenities and new look of our hotel.