Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Old school classy hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2014
All staff were amazing, everything was just right an easy. Although the room are a bit old style, the building and facilities are charming, very Victorian - I guess how English classy hotels looked like in an old era (and I mean that in a positive way)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cold- rude staff

Posted Oct 9, 2014
The room was to cold to sleep- Leanne the lady who came to see us couldn't see a problem with a cold room and said we should have tunred the heating on- When we pointed out the thermaste was all the way up she said it wasn't working at that we shouldd have turned on the night storgae heaters!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

enjoyed every minute of our visit.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
realy enjoyed the swimming pool facility and the food was excellent value, would return there again. the Safari Park is very near which we visited on the bank holiday.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ACCOMODATION VERY POOR

Posted Aug 18, 2014
We apparantely stayed in the old part of the hotel. It didn't feel like the room had been cleaned for weeks. It was thick with dust everywhere and the stairs up oi the accomodation were very steep and there were no lift facilities to the particular rooms we were in Was very dissapointed as we booked this hotel for a special occassion
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burton on Trent

near safari park

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: nice surroundings, small but comfortable bar area
Cons: cheaper rooms for single occupants
Location: handy for safari park, Stourport, and Bewdley. unfortunately not within walking distance
evening meals I thought were a little more expensive than expected
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Talbot

nice hotel with added bonus of swimming pool

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was between 6.30am and 9.30am. This was very nice and we had plenty of choice of everything. Also all the staff were very friendly.
Cons: The room we stayed in was very shabby and worn, and the décor was quite "scruffy",and with only one double plug socket. This could be improved.
Location: The location was great for us, as we booked this hotel to go to The West Midland Safari Park the next day. The park was just up the road.
I booked this hotel as it was near the west midlands safari park and it had the added bonus of a swimming pool for my 9 yr old grandson. The hotel was easy to find and looked lovely from the outside. However we were placed in room 6 which was up 4 flights of stairs, and no lift, It must have been the old servants room, nothing like the rooms advertised on the website!!! The room was shabby, carpet was very worn, we were afraid to open the window incase it fell in and the sink was in the actual bedroom. The shower and toilet were enclosed behind another door. But the bedding was very clean and the beds very comfortable, and it was only for one night. The swimming pool was lovely, but we felt uncomfortable as there were people using the pool lanes, and we couldn't swim around with my grandson.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northampton

Rural hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Location: Beautiful village with restaurants,eateries and riverside walks.
We were due to attend a family wedding and was hoping to be able to get dressed in our room but the room was not ready for 2pm. We were told someone would take our bags up to the room as it would be a late return but this did not happen. on arriving back just after midnight I had to carry my suitcase up 3 flights of stairs after a boozy wedding reception. The bathroom had a generator/fan locked behind a locked door which caused a terrible hum all night and there was a very small window which did not let any breeze in with no fans avaiable in the room. The reception staff in the afternoon were very pleasant and it was not her fault the room was not ready but generally a poor stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dreamjanda from Bristol

Very good hotel in good location

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good hotel staff friendly and helpful, good location for visiting places of interest in the area. Lots of parking and good amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by JM from Scotland

Leisure-- not so leisurely

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have stayed at the hotel on several occasions and have always found it highly satisfactory. One negative point of our recent stay, however, was the excessively slow service in the Dining Room. This has not always been the case but it reached intolerable proportions on Saturday evening (17.05.14) when we, and other guests, waited up to an hour for our meal. If there is a large function in the hotel then extra staff should be employed to cater for 'ordinary guests'.Those with children were worst affected.This is a serious management issue which must be addressed.