Ratings based on 511 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

pinesol smell-strong didn't look like booking pix

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Cons: pinesol smell-strong didn't look like booking pix
No what we were expecting. Did not look like the pictures. Would not go back there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca.

Big Bear Lake- only a few rooms have this view

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The Lake view from the balcony
Cons: Everything
Location: close to the lake
checked in, dropped off luggage then visited town. Upon return to the room, the floor was sticky, there was baggage and shoes left in the closet. Talked with host and asked if he reissued my room and he ask if my name was Dillon which i replied no. He said something was wrong and i agreed. I informed him that the room appeared as if it had not been cleaned. He said that he would get a mop bucket and clean. I informed him that i did not want someone knocking at my door or trying to open it with a key in the middle of the night. He offered me a lake view room that someone had checked out of but he needed to check it. I took him up on the offer but was uncomfortable with the situation. The room was in nicer condition but i do not believe he changed any sheets. A terrible experience for the price of the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside

Nice lake view. Beds were great. Staff very nice.

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: The view. Proximity to everything.
Cons: No closets in the room.
Location: The village is nearby... many restaurants and of course the Lake.
Nice lake view. Beds were great. Staff very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

good location

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: bed comfort
Location: lake within walking distance, shopping a short drive away
hotel was in a good location right on the water. staff was friendly and check in was easy. room was older but clean (except there was an inch of dust on the ceiling fan). was a small play area for kids and our daughter enjoyed it. easy walk to the lake to enjoy the view. pretty much only complaint was the beds were hard as a rock and plumbing was very loud.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sun city, az

Needs updating

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Location in Big Bear to village
Cons: Let's not go there!
Kitchen facilities were sparse. Coffee maker worked, but the carafe was wrong and spewed coffee grounds all over counter. Silverware was dirty and we had to wash before using. The carpet was very battered. Bathroom was clean except we had to call for toilet paper!!! Couldn't take a shower as the rod was hanging down ready to fall at any moment. The sent maintanence person over to fix on a Friday afternoon....he took it down, put it in the tub and NEVER came back. The manager tried to help as much as possible, but his hands are tied in getting money to update this place......and it REALLY needs to be updated and "cared" for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

Location, location, location!

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Staff members were courteous and helpful. The rooms was comfortable and surroundings quiet.Most of all, this establishment is pet-friendly.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Located within walking distance to a variety of restaurants & shops.
Nice location right on lakefront and within walking distance to shops & restaurants (The Village).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Classic Old School

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Cons: Bigger TV
Location: On lake, very close to village.
Loved it no phone or clock in room, felt like I was in the mountains away from the city. An actual key to get in room so I did not have to worry about putting card key in same pocket as phone. Had fridge and microwave. Nice patio, dog friendly. Perfect location on lake and walking distance to village. Free wi-fi good reception. Staff very friendly and helpful. Definitely going back in future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expected More....

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: We liked almost nothing.. and was priced similar to other properties in better shape and with more to offer.
Cons: In desperate need of renovation all the way around... There's not that many rooms, so I'd expect a decent bed and TV from the last 10 years.
Location: Was close to the VILLAGE.
Sorry, but this is just an old run-down property with little to offer. Beds hard, rooms small, Small TV (c. 1970's).. No Wifi offered (Advertised, but shown on password protected with no login info)... It does have a view of the lake...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego CA

Don't stay in the handicap room.

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Seeing it in my rear view mirror as I drove away.
Cons: Stairs need to be rebuild to not be so noisy. Handicap room should not be given to a guest unless they are handicapped or request it.
Location: It's Big Bear. Lots to do depending on the time of year. Go to Botana (I think that is how it is spelled) for a good meal.
This place looks nice from the outside. Rooms are a little outdated with tube TVs hung on the wall. When I checked in I thought the room was a little weird with half a dozen handrails in the bathtub and a portable stool in the bathroom. When I left the room I figured out why, I was in the handicap room. I am not handicapped. I did not return to the room until late in the evening and though it was September, it was a little cold out. So I tried to adjust the thermostat to warm the room. That is when I found out the heater did not work. But the worst was the noise from outside. I could swear people were standing outside my patio area talking. But they were not. The acoustics just suck. Since I was in the handicap room, I was on the bottom floor, this place has two. It seemed like everyone on the top floor was jumping their way down the hallway it was so loud in my room. The there are the stairs. Since the handicap room is on the end, the stairs to the second floor attach to the outer wall of the handicap room. A herd of elephants would make less noise going by the room than the people walking up and down the stairs. So if you want to sleep in pat 7am get earplugs. Fortunately I had stayed up till 5am so I could at least fall asleep over and over again. There was also a weird smell once I got into the bed. Sort of like a bathroom smell but the bathroom did not smell that way. Maybe the regular rooms are better but I will never know because I would never stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great option for big bear!

Posted Sep 9, 2014
I went only for a couple of days and it is located in a great spot. Everything is close. About the hotel, I was so happy that my room came with a little kitchen Helps me a lot too But don't get me wrong big bear has great places to eat.