Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, nice people, old rooms.

Posted Feb 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
Yes, the rooms are outdated, the beds are old and uncomfortable, but none of this seemed very important because the room was so nice and quiet I was able to get a great night of sleep. A hot tub would have been nice though, especially after a day of skiing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do NOT stay at the Black Forest Lodge

Posted Feb 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
We were completely disappointed when we arrived at the Black Forest Lodge. We were promised a microwave/spa in the room and got neither. We were up all night with the ceiling fan shaking from the guest walking in their room above. The room filled with smoke when we used the fireplace although it was open. The bathroom had a picture with a broken piece of glass about to fall out--nothing is replaced in this hotel! We were charged an outragous amount for a one star, unsafe room. Do Not Book this hotel!!!
2 out of 5
by Boltfan from San Diego CA

Never again!

Posted Feb 14, 2012
Beds are old, noisy and uncomfortable. Bathroom was run down and did not look clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from los angeles ca

black forest hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very good stay we had at this place.really close to the ski venue
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very nice room

Posted Jan 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed the ambience of the room. Very nice decorations - very old school feel to it. Maybe only complaint was the control to the fireplace stuck in the 'on' position. Woke up sweating. Also, would recommend no styrofoam cups - give mugs - as putting styrofoam in microwave oven isn't recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mediocre but not too bad

Posted Jan 11, 2012
This was probably the most inexpensive place in all of Big Bear.. I have certainly stayed in better but have also stayed in worse. The room could have been a little cleaner but it was pretty comfortable for a few days and we had no problems. The staff was perfectly pleasant and for what we got the price was decent! If your on a budget I would suggest this hotel, just don't expect too much! You get what you pay for.. All in all, not bad and chances are your not going to spend your vacation in your hotel room anyway so who cares?
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karnese from California, USA

Ok hotel if it's your only option.

Posted Jan 9, 2012
Pros: The room was spacious and warm.
Cons: BEDS!!!
Location: Close to the slopes, restaurants, and The Village.
The room was roomy, warm, and clean. The only downfall was the bed. It was extrememly uncomfortable. They dipped down in the middle, which made you sleep as if you were lying in a valley....HELLO BACKACHE!! Other than the beds, the hotel was ok.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No frills

Posted Jan 9, 2012
Pros: The fireplace.
Cons: The bed.
Location: Close to the lake.
Our first impression of the room was that I was entering the back-door. What we encountered was a sliding glass-door with a barely noticeable keyhole. I opened the door and we pushed aside the curtain to find a very modest and very small room. The bathroom was depressing -- very tiny with a minuscule counter. The bed was the worst. It was very worn and the pillows were flat. We eventually migrated to the floor, which was sadly more comfortable -- and closer the heater. The room did have a fireplace, though, which was kind of nice. If only we'd brought some wood.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid

Posted Dec 28, 2011
the hotel was cheap, but not cheap enough considering! no clean towels or room keeping in 3 days. avoid!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Irvine, CA, USA

A night of paradise.

Posted Dec 22, 2011
Pros: The look of it all.
Cons: That I didn't stay longer!
Location: Smack in the middle of Big Bear, perfect location and I couldn't have asked for better.
I couldn't have asked for a better stay - unbeatable price for an AMAZING room! It was rustic and beautiful, stayed for a night just this week and I can't complain about a thing. The two person whirlpool spa IN the room made it so comfortable I did not want to leave - it seems like a week here would be heaven. I recommend this to anyone but couples especially, romantic and comfortable.