Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kevinfrom Montebello

A lot better than I expected

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels.com
My girlfriend and I wanted a little winter getaway and found this place on hotels.com, however Castle Wood Cottages is now just recently (about two weeks ago) under new management. So you will have to book directly through the hotel from now on. The lady who bought it is the owner of another cabin rental place that looked very nice. So I can't wait to return to see what she does with the place. We stayed in Kate's Cottage. It was very cute and cozy. The room was very cold and the fire was a little hard to get started. The room is supplied with two types of wood for purchase or you can bring your own. The room is also equipped with a tv, DVD/VCR a microwave, a mini fridge, a coffee maker and two mugs. The bed was more comfortable than I expected, but the pillows were a little on the flat side. We didn't really have any encounters with the staff other than to ask for some paper to start the fire. The hotel looked relatively clean except for the grease stains I found next to the microwave and some dust around the room. There are plenty of rental places for snow gear near by, if visiting during snow season, and there is also a Taco Bell, a Denny's, and El Pollo Loco near by; along with other local restaurants. The town and just about everything else is pretty close by too. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. We really liked the environment of the whole place, especially how each room has a different theme. We will definitely be returning to try another room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom orange county

Great place! The themed rooms are pretty cool.

Posted Jan 20, 2015
The rooms range from tiny cabins that are great for a cozy get away to large spacious castles( no really...with a moat)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good location. Very small. A bit worn. Pleasant.

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Location. Quaint. Cozy.
Cons: Made for little people.
Very small room. Standing upright, my whole head cleared the mirror & shower in the restroom. Expect no privacy from your partner, even in the restroom. Loved the fireplace. Bed was comfortable. Great place for a little romance. In walking distance from everything. It's a little worn down & could use some renovation, but We enjoyed it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Not bad

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
Not bad overall a good place to stay. Only thing is the room wasn't as clean as we would have liked. But would I recommend and stay there again? Yes.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom west covina, ca

Stay far away from here... Gross gross gross!!

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Horrible anniversary getaway :( Checked in at 4 pm, went to our room and then out for the evening. Dirty, dingy and dusty. Don't take your shoes off. Wear shower slippers. It's nasty. Came back to the room around 9pm, was getting settled into bed when two hotel workers came to our room and asked us to leave because they have us the wrong room. I argued. They said since it's not rented out I could pay 30.00 per night more if I wanted to stay there. Why the heck should I pay for their mistake??!! I didn't want to pay so they made us pack up and leave in the freezing cold and made us walk to the correct room with all our luggage. The worst experience ever! I could not believe they would not accommodate us since it was their mistake and the room was not rented anyhow. Stay far from this place. Big mistake. Horrible anniversary getaway :(. I can't express in words how dirty this place is. Even the towels left a gross residue when we used them. Needs new owners, management and a huge overhaul on the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Melissafrom San Diego

So much fun...

Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Me and my boyfriend went for Christmas and my birthday and chose the Crystal Cave. We had such an amazing time and the themes of the rooms are just so exciting. Next time I want to try the treehouse and enchanted forest. It's fun to get away and try something new away from the same boring hotels. Was surprised my boyfriend loved the room too and the huge jetted tub. So cozy and clean. Will definitely be coming back for sure and telling everyone about it. Also give the customer service A+ the owners are so nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elsafrom La Puente

romantic getaway

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
First time here, it was an awesome experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alfrom Orange CA

Birthday Surprise

Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife was tickled to stay at Castle Wood. She would like to keep going back until she has stayed in each of the theme cottages. Snow on the ground, a cozy fire and you couldn't ask for more! Great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacey room will make you feel right at home!

Posted Dec 23, 2014
I was astonished when I saw the room in person. It was the same design and lay out as it was in the picture! There's honestly nothing negative to talk about. The place is very clean when we got there and the props were interactive for us to use! Since we got the captain room, there was several costumes for us to wear for fun. The location of the cottage is very convenient for many attractions if you were to walk by foot. The cottage exceeded my expectations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Erin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2014 on Hotels.com