Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
ROOM WAS OK DATED AND SHOWING ITS AGE AND THE OUTSIDE NEEDED LAWN CARE AND TOTAL CLEAN UP
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2014 by Eric, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. Our hotel did recently complete an interior renovation to include new furniture, televisions, and bathroom amenities. The exterior has begun its refresh as well. Hopefully you will have a chance to visit us again when those are completed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the HWY

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: It's convenience
Cons: Signage
Location: It's in MI near the lakes, parks and forest. What's more to know?
Very nice. We would stay there again. It is affordable with an attached restaurant and pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2014 by Eric, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the great review. We are going to be removing some landscaping for the hotel to help with our signs not being visible from the roads.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Clean, comfortable visit

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Comfortable beds & pillows, nice updates in the bathrooms.
Cons: Pool & spa (see note that they are currently in the process of repairs)
Location: Ferris State University, Canadian Lakes
My husband and I stayed for one night while visiting family in the Canadian Lakes area. We had asked about an early check-in, and our room was available when we arrived. The front desk staff was cheerful and friendly. These hotel rooms have been recently renovated to a more modern look. Our bed was very comfortable, and the room was very clean. We ordered carry-out appetizers from the Sporting News Grill around 11:30pm, and the food was just okay. The only downside was the pool and spa which were both in need of maintenance and cleaning, but please note that the following day, the pool and spa would be closed for a week for repairs. I'm sure during this time they will address the small issues we encountered. Overall, a nice hotel that I would visit again when we are in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2014 by Eric, Hotel Management
Greetings Kate, Thank you for the kind review. We did address the pool issues during this past week and our facility is back up and running. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mary from Paw Paw

Nothing to really complain about

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were just passing through and stopped for one night. The staff members we dealt with we're both super nice and helpful. The only downside was there was maintenance being done throughout. It wasn't loud, there was just a lot of guys walking around, they were working on something in the pool area. It was open, I just felt uncomfortable going in there. But, I'm sure whatever they were working on needed to be done. Little pricey, but who knows what you'd get at the other cheap hotels in town. Overall, good stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Eric, Hotel Management
Mary, Thank you for the review. We have almost completed all renovations at the hotel. We hope that you will come see us again when everything is done and renewed. We look forward to hosting you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best place to stay in Big Rapids

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: One of favorite things is the new sports bar! Food is great. Service can be a little faster.
Cons: Shower heads are too low and made for short people.
Location: The location is perfect for families visiting their children that are at Ferris State. It is down the street from the school.
The hotel is very clean, Rooms are spacious and beds are very comfortable. Our only concern in the room is the shower heads. They are made for very short people. I am 5'1" and have to duck my head to wash my hair. New sports bar is great. Good food and great place to watch a game. Would be nice if they had more of a craft beer selection.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2014 by Eric, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful review. We will address the height in the showers. It is good to hear that you had a chance to enjoy our Sports Bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kyle from Cadillac

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Barb from Big Rapids

Very Nice Stay

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our stay was very nice. We were attending a wedding and needed to check in early and they were able to get us in our room 2 hours before check in time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Work in progress

Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
While this hotel was a bit dated, they are working on a massive overhaul of the guest rooms and lobby. I look forward to when that's renovation is complete. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only real downside was the pool maintenance. It was very dirty. Considering that's my children's favorite part of a hotel stay, it was disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was ok. Hotel could use some updating. Need more light in bathroom. Once you close the shower curtain it's like you are in a cave. Don't even think of shaving your legs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Was disappointed and surprised to find there was no restaurant or bar/lounge area. Enjoyed Bennigans in the past!!