Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Tl from Michigan

Rude staff. Unclean rooms.

Posted Feb 18, 2014
The staff is horrible. We were two night guests. Housekeeping just barged in without knocking. Manager on duty made my 5 yr old cry by telling him he couldn't swim in the pool/hottub. The pool was freezing. They charged for lost key or non returned key cards. The rooms weren't filthy but they weren't clean. The only redeeming quality was the continental breakfast which I'm guessing is a requirement for them to continue with their franchise agreement with Super 8. I will not be returning to this motel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Nancy from Interlochen MI

Acceptable accomodations

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Pros: I liked its location - easy to find, not too far off the highway, close to restaurants and shopping.
Cons: Cleaning details: smooth the bedspread, make sure dust ruffle is not caught up when making the bed, look for stains on cushions, etc.
Location: This hotel is located at the main exit to Ferris State University so very handy - easy off and on the highway; restaurants and shopping close by.
I found the staff to be helpful and pleasant; the location was convenient. The pool was chilly and appeared a little cloudy, but the hot tub was spacious and clean. My room accomodations were nice -- the bed was a little sloppily made - it looked like someone had sat on it as it was a little rumpled. The chair cushion was stained - I turned it over so it wasn't distracting! Bathroom facilities very nice, and the desk/work area was great. Overall, a good enough value for the cost. I would stay there again, and would recommend it to anyone looking for reasonable accomodations.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Golf
by Eric from Portland

You get what you pay for

Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Some of the tv stations didn't come in which was a bit disappointing b/c one of them was the one the NLCS was on. All in all ok but next time I would spend a bit more and upgrade to a better hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by kim from chicago

Visit son at college.

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Clean up the rooms.
Location: Why.
Room dirty, and for the cost, way over charged. Visited different hotel while there and much nicer place for same rate. Will not stay at this hotel again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the money

Posted Oct 4, 2013
For the money this is a nice hotel to stay at when visiting your kid at Ferris State University. It is close to the campus. There are plenty of restaurants near by. And the free breakfast offers many options to start your day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kim Miller from Michigan

You get what you pay for

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel had an indoor pool that was very cold. The hot tub was warm in comparison to others that I have enjoyed. The carpet in the room reveals that there is no attention paid to detail like vacuuming around the edge of the room on a regular basis. The towels were cheap and scratchy. Breakfast was the same everyday: cold cereal, coffee, muffins or wrapped muffins, bread for toast, bagels, cream cheese, previously frozen egg patties, waffles. There was a basket of fresh fruit with coffee and orange or apple juice. It is well located to Ferris State University and has a Bob Evans out front. The secure entrance that should require a card swipe to get in from outside, would open without the swipe of the card.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ray Bud from Hip Town

Weekend Rendezvous Extravaganza!

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Pros: The hallway carpet was really nice and the staff was friendly.
Cons: Working fridge, back to the remote, towels, bigger coffee maker...and flannel.
Location: Shopping was close...when we were looking for flannel. Nice places to eat.
Well...it was interesting. We found that we did not bring enough flannel for our experience in Big Rapids. Although flannel was available at the local retail stores, we just felt overdressed for the experience we were hoping for.