Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Billings, MT

The room was clean and very nice.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The room and the entry was very pleasant.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: A very nice shopping center was very near by as well as good restaurants.
I especially liked the comforter on the bed because it was chilly. The heat worked well and everything couldn't have been any better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kyle from Utah

second time staying here

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Convenient location in/around Big Sky Nice place.
Cons: Continental breakfast. The bar was set with the first visit in 2008 (hard boiled eggs, excellent fruit selection (kiwi, watermelon, cantaloupe, etc)
Location: Ski, ski, ski.... what else is there?
My daughter and I do a annual ski trip. Big Sky was the first trip back in 2008. Discovered the River Rock Lodge on the internet (almost by accident). had a great time, the Continental Breakfast was the best we'd had. Returned this year (2014). The place hadn't changed much. Still a good place to stay. The continental breakfast isn't what it used to be but still acceptable. We love it and we'll stay there again if the opportunity arises.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Big Sky comfort

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: Clean and friendly staff and in the middle of town
Cons: Unfortunately snow clearing around the hotel occurs at 3am in the morning, which can be quite noisy.
Location: Great location close to restaurants (not many at the mountain resort)
For those travellers with a car, this hotel is a great choice. Big Sky town provides more dining and shopping options than the mountain resort. River Rock resort is close to all the shopping and restaurants in town who provide discounts to clients of the resort. the drive to the mountain is only 5 to 10 minutes and free parking is available while you ski for the day (otherwise there is a free transfer from town).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sherry from Montana

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Quiet. Great common area with lots of seating and a good breakfast. Close to restaurants/bars/shopping. Easy to get to the ski hill. A hidden gem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic Ski Lodge

Posted Oct 8, 2013
River Rock Lodge is a warm and inviting place to stay, with a traditional old west feeling and atmosphere. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. The room was clean and quiet. During this time of the year, most of the surrounding restaurants were closed. We stayed here as an alternative to staying closer to Yellowstone. The drive from Big Sky to Yellowstone is only 48 miles, and it is a beautiful drive, but gets old after a few times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice,convenient hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: Convenience, not huge so it was intimate and friendly,helpful staff
We had a wonderful time. River Rock Lodge was our first stop on our first trip through Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons. It was all awsome!
2 out of 5
by Patrick from Texas

Disappointing!

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: central location
Cons: Breakfast menue, add hot items. Also need arm chairs in the rooms.
Cold continental breakfast was lacking. Most hotels and lodges less expensive than this offer a few hot breakfast items - boiled eggs, bisquits and a meat, and waffels Central location in Big Sky, but in a large parking lot with a lot of other commercial and retail buildings around. This was the most expensive of the 4 hotels, lodges, cabins, and B & B that we stayed in around Yellowstone and Tetons, but the least enjoyable. By far the least senic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Asaf from UK

Nice hotel but not near Yelowstone!!!

Posted Sep 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is nice, although not as describes on-line. This is a no frills hotels, with good value for money if you are going to ski in Montana's Rockies. Don't go there if you are visiting Yelowstone!!! We searched for hotels next to Yelowstone and were mislead to think that this hotel is anywhere near it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com