Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Amazing place View is spectacular The spa is great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Rustic luxury

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Relax and enjoy the resort. Make time to visit the nearby restaurants.
I enjoyed everything about this resort - my spacious room, the gorgeous pool and the quality food. The staff was very friendly and their shuttle service was much appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Templeton, CA

Excellent hotel in a beautiful location

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Rooms, grounds, activities. Spa massage was a bit expensive but excellent.
Cons: Dinner main courses were poor. Service was good, venue was great. Food presentation was very good. BUT, the main courses sucked.
Location: At the Inn, pools, spa, walks, exercise room, library, cheese & wine. Nearby are great walks, beaches, parks, and a lighthouse tour.
Nearly everything about the Ventana Inn And Spa was perfect. The rooms were very comfortable with a nice view. The Inn grounds were beautiful. There were two great pools, a Japanese bathing pool an exercise room and a library. Hammocks were here and there around the grounds. At 4 pm daily there was a free cheese-wine event. Cheeses were good, the wine was only fair (there are many great wines made nearby they could have done better). Bring your own wine! Breakfasts were great. The Continental buffet was well stocked with fresh fruit, muffins and cakes, and two egg choices. Oatmeal was also available. All good. Dinner was a disappointment. The menu and food looked great but the execution was awful. Hot courses were barely warm. The deserts were excellent. This was even more of a surprise because we ate there maybe 2 years ago and the dinner was the best we had ever had. Maybe no master chef overseeing the cooks? Sad.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Bill McIntire from San Diego

Significantly overpriced

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was well furnished, comfortable and quiet. The staff was helpful and professional. However, the price for one night was at least double what it should be for the value. Our view was of brown grass, a tree line and water in the distance at about 2 miles. A few perks are included but hardly justify $1000/night. Our one experience would also lead us to recommend avoiding the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Wonderful hotel, the place is beautiful. I'll be back for sure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Doug from California

Great location for a hotel. Beautiful views and pe

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Location and staff.
Overall had a great experience. If you like rustic and beautiful this hotel is just for you. We stayed for 3 days and could have stayed much longer. We have stayed at many Four Season and Ritz Carlton properties and this compares with the best of them. The only slight critique that I could offer would be in the amenities of the Spa (steam room). The massage was one of the best that I've had. However long you stay here it will not be long enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn

Absolutely Da Bomb!

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Location: Its Big Sur! If you are going, you will know why.
This place is just beautiful and everything is done with elegance and class. The grounds are amazing, nothing like a morning walk through foggy redwoods and lovely wildflowers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by andy from hexham

Hotel in The Big Sur overlooking the Pacific.

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Great staff. A walk around the grounds available with an entertaining guide Greg.
Cons: Heating system broke down twice in one day but staff had it fixed quickly. Electric fan on heater was noisy.
Location: The Big Sur provides stuff to do for all, ranging from walks, relaxation, good eating, history, scenery and more.
Great situation within extensive grounds. Restaurant very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by P. Stapleton from Athens, GAc

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Amazing