Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, Illinois

Great location, mid-range hotel.

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Ideal location, after we found it! Nice little square in front of the diningroom, has an open-air market 3 days a week.
Cons: Rooms need a facelift; woodwork is warped in places from moisture, ceilings need repair from water damage.
Location: Very near metro stops, great running/walking path right in front of hotel, along the water. Bridge to other side of river is less than 1/2 block away.
The hotel is in a lovely 19th century building, right on the water. Common areas are clean and simple, rooms are a bit worn, but clean and adequate. We switched to a room on the water side with a balcony-great for sitting and having a drink, watching the river traffic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brighton UK

Nice hotel close to Port

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Location: Excellent.
We stayed here on our way back to the UK via The Bilbao - Portsmouth ferry. The hotel is an easy 5 minute drive from the port and has an excellent location next to the swing bridge. The hotel is 3* so don't expect 5* standards but the staff were helpful, the room was clean and overlooked the river, the restaurant was good value for money and in general it was an excellent last stop before boarding the ferry the following morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Mags from Folkestone

Good room, veiw of town.

Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
THE HOTEL WAS DIFFICULT TO FIND BECAUSE THE ROAD IS CLOSED AND THE ROUTE IS ROUND A VERY BUSY PART OF THE TOWN.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Boscombe, Dorset, England.

beautiful views and location. Close to the ferry.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
First time there, would certainly use again, in fact we have saved all the details for our next trip. Underground secure car park leaves one with no worries about leaving the vehicle overnight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Kent UK

Superb location excellent for ferry access

Posted Jun 19, 2014
The hotel is good value, well run and very well located with good views over the port and in a quiet area of the city. There are excellent walks along the promenades nearby. We had only two problems-finding it by car, as the main entrance is from a pedestrian promenade (you have to check in before you find out where the entrance to the car park is); and the aircon was not working. As we had a balcony overlooking the port and the evening was balmy, we managed, but the inside of the hotel was much too hot. And this was June. Otherwise, we recommend this for travelers coming to or from Portsmouth by Brittany Ferries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pep from Torquay, Devon. U.K.

Good view

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Good sized room with excellent views. Helpful staff.
Cons: Change of chef
Location: Location good for ferry. Nice walks.
Not easy to find. Convenient for ferry. I do not recommend the restaurant. Maintenance a little lacking since the toilet cistern had come off the wall!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by The Walkers from Lancsashire

Interesting location close to ports

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Interesting to watch activity on the river and the elegant bridge from the bedroom window if on the riverside. Good hotel in convenient location for the port. Would stay again but on the next occasion would not have dinner at the hotel as the menu was restricted and the quality of one steak was below expectations. The complaint was not handled professionally either. The tapas at themain bar were very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Morin from Malaga

Just a great place

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is located just by the famous cable ferry and the old town, the staff was welcoming and the hotel rooms confortable and very clean, great view on the rover and the bridge.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mocha from spain

Good for Ferries

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Close to Port Dog Friendly
Location: Next To portulgate bridge hava a ride on it great fun
Dog Friendly but room allocated because we had dogs was of a poor standard, having stopped in other serco group hotels in Spain were rooms allocated even if you had dogs were of a high standard it was a little disappointing improvement needed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ruth from preston

Fabulous location

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Wonderful situation. Clean and comfortable. Close to ferry.
Cons: We are very satisfied with the hotel.
Location: Walks by the river. Transporter bridge. Easy to get into bilbao. Stunning location.
Stayed here 3times. Rooms overlooking the river with wonderful views of transporter bridge. Staff really friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast and evening menu very good value. Four minute walk to train station then 15mins to centre of bilbao and Guggenheim museum. 2 miles to ferry. Recommend this hotel highly for 1 to 2 night stay prior to ferry to uk.