Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK and Japan

Excellent location - great restaurant

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff. Excellent restaurant which, given the delights on offer in Bilbao was a surprise. Good beds.
Cons: More staff speaking Basque
Location: Best shopping/museum and restaurants within easy walking distance.
Very pleasant stay. Subway system was easy to use. Hotel supplied tickets.San Sebastian worth a coach ride.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old !

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Perfect location ! I can't recommend to any one because very old furniture and poor room conditions .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location but a bit outdated

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: cleanliness, location
great location of hotel and wonderful, helpful staff. hotel is super clean but you can tell it's outdated but it's being kept up in great condition. if you want a design hotel or experience, this isn't it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location - No a 5 stars but pretty good

Posted Dec 19, 2013
Pros: Great location
Cons: Bathrooms ...but ok
Location: Museum , and Everything
Excellent location , you can walk to the Guggenheim museum and PLUS ...you can walk to the Bilbao Best areas from this hotel ,Garcia Rivero , Licenciado pozas , Casco viejo ETC... This hotel is located in the Michigan Ave of Bilbao :) in the Gran via , if you have a rental car they park you car Valet for $26Euros day , that perfect Take the breaktfast because is excellent Hotel Staff very friendly .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joaquin from Mex city

Hotel Carlton Bilbao

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Pros: The location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Visit the casco viejo, museum área ande shopping places
Great hotel for the price, the staf was very nice ande helpful, Great breakfast buffet, the room was Realy comfortable
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jacob Willemsen from NYC

Cant believe the price/ quality

Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel in the center of Bilbao. Big rooms, friendly service, conveniently located. The only thing that i can think of why they don't charge more is that it may not be the most trendy / new furniture, but who cares hen it still in very good condition. You feel the old quality/grandeur of this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pepper from Virginia

Great location but I was disappointed

Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Yes, this is a lovely old hotel, but it appears they really don't want to deliver a 5 star service. I chose the hotel because Hotels. com said they provided shuttle service to the airport., which they don't!!! We were told to take a $30 taxi. I thought the reception desk was also very cold and not at all eager to make suggestions. Yes, I was disappointed because I expected to be treated better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Cons: The restaurant.
They honored my request for a quiet room and stored my additional suitcase fora week while I traveled in Spain. As a woman traveling alone I chose to eat in the hotel restaurant and was not impressed. It was expensive and the food was mediocre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Traveler from USA

We had a lovely visit to Bilbao.

Posted Oct 16, 2013
The Carlton is a very nice, older, hotel. Being older, it has some issues, especially the lack of enough electrical outlets do recharge our numerous cameras and phones and we felt it was noisier than you would expect for what's recognized in the town as a 5-star property. We could hear water flow from toilets/showers above us and street noise. We thought the dining room was excellent. The room rate we got, however, did not include breakfast as do most European hotels.