Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N Ireland

Wonderful Silken

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The location. Great tram system
Lovely hotel, great value for money. Plenty of local restaurants to have breakfast if you don't want to use the hotel dining room. Would recommend this hotel and would certainly go back in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good base in Bilbao, excellent restaurant.

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Evening dinner in the restaurant. All staff helpful.
Cons: Lighter decor in the bedroom.
Location: Approximately a fifteen minute walk to the Guggenheim museum; a glorious modern building, not to be missed. There is a taxi rank next to the hotel.
The bedroom and bathroom were spacious with plenty of storage and surfaces. The bed was comfortable and the shower was powerful with plenty of hot water. However the combination of the tinted windows and beige walls made the room dark. On Saturday and Sunday the road was quiet apart from the rubbish collection during the night. The breakfast was excellent on Sunday morning when the breakfast room was busy; but on Monday morning the staff were focussing on setting up for lunch, so we could not sit in our preferred part of the room which was light; but instead were directed to a table in the darker end. Also, on Monday the fruit salad bowls were not replenished sufficiently so they mainly contained juice, but there were separate plates of fresh fruit slices. The restaurant was excellent: the food was of very good quality and excellent value. They had a menu in English which indicated gluten free options. The service was friendly and helpful. Gluten free bread was available both at breakfast and dinner.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Okay but not great.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff, bed was comfortable, bathroom clean and generally functional (once the shower bracket was fixed). Parking was made easy by the staff.
Cons: Not sure anything could be done about the noise in this particular room, because of the low floor and location right at the entrance.
Concidentally, the days we planned to be in Bilbao turned out to be the time that the Basketball World Cup was taking place there. As a result, even five months ahead of time, hotel rooms were extremely scarce and much more expensive than normal (probably 250 percent of normal prices at least). We paid $315 plus tax for a room that, while in the newer section (not the one that many people have negatively reviewed for being in a worn-out condition), was located right above the main entrance and was very noisy. I ended up sleeping in the little "sitting area" room, with the cushions pulled off the chairs to lie down on, because of the street noise. Someone who is a heavy sleeper might not have a problem with this. I should also note, though this made no difference to me, the spot on the wall where the television would have been, was bare with just wires coming out of it. On the plus side, the desk staff (and evidently the maintenance staff) are quite attentive; the shower bracket/holder was broken and when we asked the hotel staff if it could be fixed, they arranged for that to happen and it was all done when we got back to the room after dinner. Overall, we were disappointed not to spend more time in Bilbao, which we found to be a lovely city, and perhaps we will have a chance one day when there is no Basketball World Cup going on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy and Bernie from Tewkesbury England

Hotel quiet yet easy access to all of Bilbao

Posted May 21, 2014
Great hotel comfy large bed just perfect. Hotel was very clean and tidy. Staff were helpful our room was cleaned daily.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ron from hornchurch

great shower

Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
very comfortable beds,room was large,there was a full room width desk with wide top.bathroom very big,2 basins and the shower was the best,bath none slip surface,would definitely stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jj from London

convenient location and quiet

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: good location
Cons: just needs a bit of updating. free wifi only in reception - you have to pay for access in your room
Location: close to Guggenheim and pintxos bars - yum!
a bit dated and tired, but for £54 for the night we got what we were after - i.e. somewhere close to the Guggenheim, clean bed, enough room to move around, parking (for a fee), and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from Paris, FR

Hotel close to the action in Bilbao

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: 24/7 front desk with staff that spoke most mainstream languages (English, Spanish, French). Good location. Free WiFi. Room was clean and comfortable.
Cons: The lighting in my room was not working properly. I only had one bathroom light and one room light; both somber.
Location: Short walk to metro/bus. Lots of great museums like the Guggenheim and Belles Artes. Main shopping districts in close proximity.
I stayed at this hotel over the Easter weekend so I could explore the Basque Country and found the price very agreeable. The hotel is near enough to the primary modes of transport and a short walk to whatever else. Bilbao isn't a huge city, so it wasn't tiring to walk from the hotel to Casco Viejo or any other place along the river.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Michael from Dallas

Enjoyed my stay

Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was large with a comfortable bed. The breakfast buffet was enjoyable. The staff was more than willing to help with questions. I would think they would be willing to help with any problems but there were no problems.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Maria from Essex

Perfect Locality for all shops and restaurants

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I have stayed many times at this hotel, which we were not aware of. Even my family who live in Bilbao were very impressed with this hotel.. We are already booking our next stay at the end of May 2014.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laurence from Yorkshire

Absolutley fine

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: Central location
"Free" internet is very slow - it you are going on business you will likley need to pay for the faster service. Also, they do not have irons available so if you need to iron an item such as a work shirt like I did, you have to pay them €7.