Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Skelmorlie, Scotland

Well located city hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Very knowledgeable staff - better than those in the tourist information office, who gave great advice so that we could get the best out of our stay.
Cons: The lobby bar lacks atmosphere.
Location: Top of the Gran Via which was less than 10 minutes away from the bus station - fantastic. Everything within walking distance.
Hotel plusses - bed very comfortable with a range of pillows, kettle and coffee machine, SILENT air conditioning, Hotel minus - most of the rooms have no outlook. Loved Bilbao, especially the old town. Great for eating out, especially between 1 and 4 pm - 3 course menus available between 12 and 20 euros, bread, and wine included. The bars offer tapas - pintxos for around 1 euro each so it's a great way to sample the specialities. Very lively street for bars was Licienciado Poza and the old town, Casco Viejo is so interesting and full of life. Lots of cloud, whilst warm during our stay with some showers - the locals always have an umbrella!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brenda from Belfast

Perfect location for exploring the city!

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Really enjoyed our stay here. Staff very pleasant. Beds so comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by kerr711 from London

Excellent short break!

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
In bilbao for a few days and we really liked this hotel for the great location, friendly staff (who were very helpful and nice) and great clean rooms. We had a quiet room facing the courtyard and took breakfast every day. Breakfast was excellent, replenished constantly and hot food available cooked to your request. The serving staff were all very friendly and didn't mind us sitting there having a long breakfast. Only negative was that the lift stuck while I was in it but I phoned reception in the lift and help came immediately. We have nothing but praise for the staff. Highly recommended for a trip to Bilbao!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by KF from Toronto

Excellent business hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was great and very well appointed. Would definitely recommend to the more business oriented visitors. A bit of a hike to the tourist attractions in the Casco Viejo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Andrew from Florida

Walking distance to all sites

Posted Jun 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent return for the money, high scores on all parametrs. The exception is the free WiFi which is of extremely poor quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Yellowbentine from Manchester

good hotel, good location, clean, and competive

Posted Feb 26, 2013
Pros: sleak design, large room, cleanliness
Location: good for Guggenheim, excellent for football stadium, good for old town (via 1 euro 40 tram)
We were very pleased with this hotel. I took a while to book it as others looked good too and some competitive pricing, but no regrets - our room was about £70 per night. The room we had was large (it was a corner room so not sure if other rooms are this big), king size bed, very comfortable. No problems with heating. Nice mural on the wall of a barley corn or something. Shower was ace, room clean. The hotel itself is well located particularly for the football ground (though that wasn't the purpose of the visit), but near to some nice open spaces. The Gugg would be a pleasant walk - and crucially, the excellent tram, which is not particularly useful for the centre of the new city, is excellent for linking the hotel with the old town, via the Gugg and a very scenic route along the river. The hotel staff were generally helpful, and happy to store luggage etc. The bar is nice - we only spotted the adjacent cafe on the last day so can't comment. You're within good reach of restaurants and bars which will be a bit cheaper as you are removed from the CBD and old town. Molly Malone's Irish pub is wortha look and isn't far. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M&J from London, UK

Overall a good hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2012
Great location: short walking distance to the Guggenheim, tram, metro and bus(coach) stations. A longer distance to the Old Town but certainly within walking distance. Room and lobby area are both clean, but there are signs of weariness e.g. small cracks on wall corner in bathroom. Breakfast service was good and friendly but the receptionists did not smile much and not particularly friendly. We asked for a room on the top floor and had a small balcony (with no tables or chairs) and a view of the Iberia(sp?) tower. We were given the choice of having breakfast at the discounted price of 8 Euro each (otherwise 18 Euro) when we checked in. Buffet breakfast was good (for the discounted price we paid) although we have had better at other 4-star hotels. There were selections of fresh fruit, cereal, pastries, cold cuts, cheeses and three choices of pixtos. Eggs cooked to order and there was champagne on the table too although hardly anyone drank it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ronan

walking distance for most sights,

Posted Jun 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
This was my first time in Bilbao and the NH Hotel. I would stay there again every body was helpfull with whatever I asked.The breakfast which I dident have I thought was way over priced.They have a great cafe attached to the hotel which is really good if you dont want to eat dinner at breakfast time.I will be back to this hotel in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2012 on Hotels.com