Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Vancouver, WA

If you have to be in awful Bilbao, stay here

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Great staff, especially considering the bad attitude and sour faces of most Bilbao residents. Expect a lot of street noise and drunken louts if you face Gugenheim.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gman from El Cajon CA

Nice hotel a short walk to the Guggenhiem

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Staff is top drawer, use the buffet on the top floor at least once - nice view
Cons: The morning bartender's attitude, dont ask for coffee even ten minutes before she is open, yikes! She did produce the coffee though.
Location: close to Guggenheim and downtown Bilbao, walk or bus or tram to just about anywhere, cab to airport is also reasonable but bus is much cheaper
We needed a little pampering after a long multihop trip, we found it here. This is a business popular medium sized hotel so book in advance for the best rate and you will receive good value. The staff is friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and English speaking, an asset for one's first trip to Spain or to Bilbao.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Meredith from Canada

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: The bathroom! It was like being in a spa. The room we stayed in had an amazing city view. The staff was very accommodating, providing a fan for us.
Cons: The a/c often gets turned off in the winter in European hotels. This is a shame as it gets very stuffy in the room with no ventilation.
Location: The location is very central -- easy to get around. Right across the street from the Guggenheim! Can't be beat!
Had a great stay at the Silken Gran Hotel. The room we stayed in was beautiful with a beautiful view of the city. The bathroom was very grand. An excellent room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from London

Opposite the Guggenheim!

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Design is fantastic and perfect location.
Cons: Air conditioning.
Hotel has great design and atmosphere. Big rooms, good breakfast with great terrace view, nice cafe and bar. The only disappointment was the air conditioning (not working at all in first room and then still weak in second room when we were moved) - as a result we found the room stuffy and hot.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by mrs m from los angeles, ca USA

it was ok

Posted Dec 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
one of the plugs was broken so i had to unplug the lamp to charge my phone, the "curtains" for the bathroom wouldnt close, we were missing the magnet that closed it. there was no ledge in the shower area for shampoo etc. very "cool" looking room but not all that sensible. the bed was ok. the internet was free but you had to log in every time you left and came back. You also had to have a separate log in to use outlook. overpriced buffet breakfast that we skipped. location can't be beat. fine overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel with friendly staff

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Pros: location and architecture
Cons: carpets
Location: great location, guggenheim museum is across from the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Co Durham

Not Always 5 Star

Posted Nov 23, 2013
Pros: Location, Gym,Breakfast
Cons: Bathroom fittings, Wifi
Location: Guggenheim, city centre walking distance
5 star designer hotel in central Bilbao,next to Guggenheim.Couple of small niggles for a 5 star,mini bar not working, bathroom fittings cheap & both plugs broken,Wifi hopeless.Cafe metropole expensive & food hit & miss.Great location,superb breakfast & excellent gym.Staff helpful &spoke good English.Parking very expensive.We left feeling that we had paid a lot for what was a good hotel but nothing really special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI USA

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: Location! Right on the river!
Cons: Most of the hotel staff were super friendly and helpful since we don't speak Spanish except for 1 girl at the reception desk. She did speak english?
Location: Great location to lots of attractions. It's right across the street from the Guggenheim Museum. Take the 2 hour Bilboats trip well worth it.
Great hotel. Their breakfast was the best we had on our trip. They had someone making eggs right there so you could order whatever you wanted. Great view of the Guggenheim Museum to eat breakfast by. We liked the location. Shopping and Pintxos bars close by. Old town about a 15-20 minute walk.