Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Hal Adams from Christiansburg

Passing through

Posted Dec 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The architecture of this hotel is beautiful... I have stayed here before... The room is very sufficient, however the overall plant is a little tired.... I would rather stay In a place that has character and history. Was quite surprised by the room service... Food was good! I would stay their again...
2 out of 5
by Mary Ann from Mississauga, ON Canada

Cold Hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: The architecture of this hotel is its best feature, and its location in downtown Binghamton.
Cons: Add more electrical outlets in the room, clean the drapes, needs to beef up the heating.
Location: Although the hotel is directly across from Binghamton City Hall, there isn't many shops or restaurant nearby.
The temperature in the hotel is low. We kept the noisy heater on all night, which interrupted our sleep as it kicked in and out. We could not draw the drapes as it billowed in the current of the heater. Plus, the drapes seem dusty, and the white sheer gray, we did not want to be shower with dust. The room is fair size, with high ceiling. Although the hotel offers free Wifi, we could not find an electrical outlet to plug in our computer.
3 out of 5
by John from Long Island

Beauty is Just Skin Deep

Posted Nov 2, 2013
The Grand Royale has an initial look and feel of a grand old hotel when you walk up the stairs and enter the lobby. Unfortunately, the great aspirations end there and don't continue to the guest rooms, or at least not mine. The room is average size, and everything in it feels cheap, from the bed to the desk chair, the lighting and the tv. The bathroom had probably the cheapest tub/wall enclosure I have ever seen, with the worst shower head I have ever used. At least everything seemed clean, although the guest checking in before us was having his room changed because the first one wasn't cleaned properly. The breakfast left a lot to be desired, empty coffee urns no one cared to refill, watered down juice dispenser, some cut up fruit and flavorless (probably frozen) bagels. The place architecturally has great promise, unfortunately they decided to run it like a Red Roof Inn.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

meh

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
meh
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Henry Lau from New York City

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Quite good. Except the heater was not working well. Manager came in and fixed it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was ok it was close to where we needed to go
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right downtown

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Excellent hotel that is in building that was the Coty Hall. Close to several bars and restaurants. We had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by George from from RI

A good one night stay.

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stopped for the evening on an Autumn road trip through southern NY. The architecture of the hotel, the former City Hall, and some of the original furnishings are very pleasing. The hotel restaurant was good, and the service was good and friendly. For the very low rate for a one night stay, this was a good value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location is convenient to a number of things, but the building is old and funky. Cons: Wallpaper peeling, no closet (although it looked like there was supposed to be a curtain on an alcove to make one), no desk or table to sit at. Wi fi faded in and out. The continental breakfast was a sad affair. Pros: minifridge, microwave, coffee maker in room. It was SUPER quiet, too.