Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Mark

Rustic Place

Posted Apr 20, 2014
First impressions mean so much. Even though I had read reviews about the beach club part of Nirwana needing renovation , I booked it for the first 2 days of my 4 day trip to Bintan. When I walked into the cottage I was surprised on how outdated and run down it was.Floors,beds,bathrooms all can't have been updated in the past ten years. Thinking that I could probably deal with the place if the beach and grounds were pristine, I made a walk to the beach. The beach was covered with bottles,trash and tar balls from some sort of oil spill. I paid about $120 for the cottage per night due to weekend rates. It might be worth a $50 a night at best. Because I booked and paid through Expedia , the management wouldn't offer me an upgrade giving me credit for the money already paid. Here is the good news. Both the Nirwana Hotel (which we moved to the 3rd and 4th nights) and Mayang Sari are both much better better places. The Hotel has very nice rooms and grounds.Breakfast was great. Bar-B-Que dinner with cultural show and entertainment was great. Many activities for the kids and family can be found on the grounds. The beaches were also cleaned up of trash the second day. Tar balls will be there a while though I imagine. Bottom lineā€¦.steer clear of the beach club part until they renovate, which they will be doing soon I was told.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Utso from Singapore

Reasonably priced with close proximity to beach

Posted Apr 15, 2014
The missus and I stayed from 12-14 April 2014. After checking in, we found the "chalet" to be a bit disappointing. The flooring was quite old and at a couple of places, ready to give in! No phone in the room! And no room service at all... However if one is willing to overlook these minor hitches, it's an economically viable place to stay
2 out of 5
by Jan from Singapore / Melbourne / Berlin

Once upon a time

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Easy to reach from Singapore, friendly staff, safe and clean (as far as they can manage to keep the open style buildings etc neat). Otherwise the resort is well run down and worn. All meals and drinks throughout the resort surprisingly, sadly low quality and shockingly overpriced: just sitting down for a couple of snacks and soft drinks sets you back about 50$SG each time (full lunch or dinner closer to 80) ...for one slim adult and two small children. A can of Tiger served at the Poolside restaurant for 9$. Regular juices all very sugary and subjectively lower shelf quality sold for top dollar prices. Waiters and chefs are really friendly, however he cooking quality is poor...a shame since SG is so close and they could bring in some knowledge easily. Mini-Marts charge twice of SG Cold Storage prices (3 bucks for a Paddle Pop ice cream, 2 bucks for an apple...). Makes you go back less often in the end. Other shops look old fashioned and unappealing. Range of onsite activities is nice, again too pricy though. 12$ for Flying Fox, 10$ for a few minutes trampoline (time sent seems to vary with time of day or interest of guard?), 10$ for Archery ( 25 arrows ), 20 bucks for 5 minutes elephant riding etc. The activity staff are great, just the management seems way to greedy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

friendliness and maintenance

Posted Mar 24, 2014
It was an awesome trip once again. Staff is super friendly and always takes care of ur concerns. However, there is a small lack on the maintenance of rooms and facilities, which might become an issue if there are no upgrades in the next year or two.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

friendliness and maintenance

Posted Mar 24, 2014
It was an awesome trip once again. Staff is super friendly and always takes care of ur concerns. However, there is a small lack on the maintenance of rooms and facilities, which might become an issue if there are no upgrades in the next year or two.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nirwana Beach Club

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Cons: Cleanliness of the room, especially the toilets
Location: Relax at the beach!!
An excellent location and ambiance to relax in a reasonable budget.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jen M Hoa from Singapore

Relaxing kampong style resort.

Posted Dec 15, 2013
Pros: Friendly & helpful staff. Near to the beach and we can walk over to Nirwana Resort for their pool.
Cons: Wifi must be improved.
Was there with my good friend & we enjoyed our stay at Nirwana Beach Club. Rustic leaving & bringing us back to the nature. Truly amazing & relaxing. Luna Beach Restaurant serve really good food & their staff are friendly. We will be back,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Inga

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: Location, stuff and restaurants.
Location: Well located, near to the beach. Can do several water activities. 5 minutes walk to the Nirwana Resort Hotel where's also swimming pool.
This was my third time in Bintan. Both of the previous times I stayed at Nirwana Resort Hotel, but this time at Nirwana Beach Club. I found Nirwana Beach Club more personal and quiet. I would definitely stay there again. Very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by R.A from Tokyo, Japan

Breakfast buffet is great

Posted Oct 16, 2013
This was my 5th or 6th visiting at the Nirwana beach club. Because the room rate is very reasonable and the beach is great, I come back here sometimes during visiting Singapore. Although I come back to this hotel every year these years, no staff greets me welcome back but some of staff ask me "1st time visiting here?" every time. Well, this isn't 5star hotel, so I shouldn't expect them too much . Every staff asks guests "where are you from?". It's not comfortable question if we were asked every time. Hotel staff is very friendly but not profetional. I love their breakfast buffet, the beach and the swimming pool so I might be coming back again tho, hope they respect "private please" sign on the door next time.