Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Revolting.

Posted Mar 19, 2009
First impressions count a lot, and here they went from bad to horrible. When looking around our first room, we resigned ourselves to the fact that we'd be staying in a place that looked like it hadn't had a single update since the '70's: it was really ugly, but probably tolerable for a night. Then we noticed that on the nightstand between the beds, centered just in front of the phone, there lay approximately 2 inches of human dreadlock hair, almost as though someone had deliberately cleaned around it. Disgusted, I grabbed some tissue and tossed it in the toilet. We then discovered that there was no soap in the bathroom. (We did have hand sanitizer with us, thank goodness.) Next, we tried calling the front desk, only to find that the phone was totally inoperable. We eventually were given another room on the same floor, in which we found no hair, but were treated to an antiquated air conditioning unit with non-functioning control knobs, a broken handle on the bathroom sink faucet, a useless television remote control, and no showerhead whatsoever. Our biggest regret other than having forked out far too much money (and being pre-charged) for such a dump of a room was that we were too tired to argue further over the conditions or to try finding another hotel at that late hour. Stay away. Stay far away.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Northern Kentucky

Barely okay for a cheap night's stay

Posted Apr 6, 2008
We recently stayed one night at the Alta Vista with several other families. We stopped there as a mid way stop on our way to Florida and I realized we would only be there for a quick nights sleep. For the money, it was okay. But there were some aspects of the hotel that were not up to par. There was a disgustingly dirty side chair in our room. It would have been much better to have no chair at all. And the bathrooms were less than clean. The free breakfast included hot eggs, sausage and biscuits, but they were all sub par. And there were few other items available. The one nice surprise was a small cafe/bar that was open when we arrived where we could enjoy a couple of adult beverages before retiring for the evening. I would have rather have spent the extra money and stayed at a neighboring national chain.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Happy to leave

Posted Mar 11, 2008
My stay was not pleasent the first room the paint was peeling and the room looked like a storage area the plumbing was just as bad. I had a meeting that day so I droped my bags off and had to take care of business. I checked in the front desk clerk was rude did not have my room reservations so that made me late to my first meeting then the room was not in good shape. There was one saving grace one employee was so curtious that helped make the stay bearable. Most of the employees are rude possible due to the monthly renters they have at the alta vista
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Birmingham, AL

Cool Get-A-Way

Posted Jan 11, 2008
I recently stayed at Alta Vista as a part of my New Year Celebration. My date and I were greeted with open arms during our stay. We did not have any complaints and the wait staff were extremely friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel if you want a secluded vacation with a great view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Jackson, MS

Birningham's Little Travel Secert!

Posted Dec 26, 2007
This hotel overall(price and location) is one the best. Service was great, and the view of Birmingham from here is stunning! I will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Indianapolis

Affordable alternative,

Posted Nov 8, 2007
I was not familiar with the hotel but was generally satisfied with the experience. The physical appearance of the facility was somewhat dated, but it was clear that the staff took pride in presenting the accommodations to the best of their ability.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

good experience

Posted Sep 12, 2007
I stayed very short, but very nice view, nice stuff
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati

Nice for the price

Posted Aug 29, 2007
I was somewhat skeptical about how nice this hotel was going to be considering the fact it was much lower in cost than other hotels in the area. Although is was off the beaten path a little, it was clean, the staff was very friendly and the view of the city was great. I would reccommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by dawnfrom leicester

nice terrace

Posted Aug 11, 2007
only stayed one night, but trrace and pool area very nice, lovely view from terrace. Room was ok, some renervation was ongoing whilst we were there, some floors were tatty. Breakfast was adeqate, some hot food avavilable as well as standard continental choices, woulk stay againg
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom gulf coast of alabama

crowded

Posted Jul 25, 2007
two huge family reunions were going on the weekend i was there ---- made for slow elevators and a little noisey, but, southern style breakfast was very good---need to cook the grits a little longer !!!!