Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mobile, AL

Comfortable and Spacious!

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Spacious...did not feel cramped and the late check out time was great too!
Location: Birmingham, AL. There are many attractions in Birmingham but we were there for a visit to UAB. There is a Zoo and plenty of shopping..
We stayed here for 2 nights. The beds were comfortable. I loved the fact that they had items they would loan you in a case at the front desk, from board games to a George Foreman grill. They had free laundry facilities. The hotel was clean and the front desk folks were really great. We were in town for a doctors visit and they showed concerned and were willing to help with any directions or simply offer suggestions of places to eat. We will be staying here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bernadette

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2015 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Danforthfrom Montgomery, AL

Decent place for quick business trip

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
On a business trip. The hotel is right off 280; so very convenient to businesses in the area. Do note the hotel does NOT offer daily cleaning. So, I had to pick up cleaning supplies. I booked the one-bedroom suite. It offered plenty of room in the kitchen and living area as well as the bedroom. The staff was nice when I asked any questions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kendall Park, NJ

Good value

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Cons: Laundry Breakfast Housekeeping
Location: Location is great, close to all the shopping, just hwy 280 is always congested.
I relocated to Birmingham for the job and stayed at Candlewood a little over three weeks before moving in to my house. Overall, the hotel is of good value. The room was recently renovated and kept clean. The full size fridge/freezer, microwave and cooktop are really great for long-term stay. The bed is really comfortable and again, clean. Air conditioner is much quieter compared to many other places I stayed. I also enjoyed HBO and HGTV on the flatscreen. Internet wifi is free. There are a couple things that can be improved. 1) Laundry is free (great), but the washers and dryers need to be maintained. Only 3 out of 6 dryers were working, and nobody ever cleaned the lint filter. I had to clean every time when I used it, a bit disgusting. 2) No breakfast is a little disappointing. You can buy snacks (in the laundry room, which also is the gym) but it's not for people who like fresh eggs and fruits. 3) When you stay long-term, the house keeping only cleans the room once a week. I'm a neat freak and I cleaned my room everyday, especially the cooktop which I used. Would highly recommend at least twice a week for long-term guests. Also the garbage can on each floor should be collected more often.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Amyfrom South Florida

Nice place for an extended stay

Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels.com
Wonderful hotel staff--very friendly and anything I asked for, they were on it right away. The facility has a nice little convenience item shop, a gym, and free laundry for guests. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. There are dishes, a dishwasher, a full fridge, a cooktop, a microwave, and a toaster in the room. They also have additional cookware and appliances that you can borrow/check out. It is a pet friendly facility, so expect barking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect stay until

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Our experience took a nose dive when we went to take our showers and the shower head/ water pressure was the worst we have ever experienced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kenyanafrom atlanta,ga

great!!!

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
This hotel was fantastic!!! Usually the hotel is never what it looks like, but when I opened the door, I couldn't beleive it was so beautiful! I could live here!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Will be back

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
I have stayed here before and will continue to. With comfortable rooms including kitchen, free washers and dryers, friendly staff and a very reasonable price, it feels like home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

great

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels.com