Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Super thoughtful staff

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Rooms were great, but staff was awesome!
Cons: Lighting in bedroom seemed to need corrective wiring.
Location: Outskirts of Birmingham...all that Birmingham offers plus beautiful hills all around.
Great stay! The entire staff went out of their way to accommodate my unexpected needs every day and night. After my stay, it happened that my daughter needed a room for 26 nights and needed a quiet room so she could sleep during the day occasionally. The staff worked to get a newly renovated room ready ahead of time. All staff were friendly and thoughtful at every question or request. Too, traveling with a furry family member can be expensive. The pet rate at this hotel was very reasonable and had safe spaces to walk. Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Biloxi, MS

Candlewood Suites Hwy 280 Birmingham

Posted Aug 4, 2014
The only draw back about this hotel was that all floors were under repair. In January frozen pipes burst in the attic and damaged all three floors. This was not mentioned anywhere during the booking process online nor was it mentioned until we had completed the check in process. The staff was incredibly nice and the price was more than affordable for the area and the accommodations. This location is convenient to everything. Easy access to and from Hwy 280. We would definitely stay here again. It just would have been nice to have been informed of the construction before committing to a non-refundable reservation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for giving us 4 stars for your stay; we truly appreciate your business.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Tom from Dallas

Under construction

Posted Jul 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
2/3 of the hotel was a construction zone impacting overall cleanliness and environment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Tom, Yes, we are under renovation; and we apologize for the inconvenience. Our website indicates we are under renovation, and that information transfers to other websites as well. I'm sorry, you were not made aware of our renovation. We've been trying very hard on a daily basis not to let the cleanliness of the hotel be a factor during this time, as we've had a full staff in place even though it may not have been necessary. Again, I'm sorry for your experience, but come back in about 2 months, and you will have a beautiful, brand new hotel to stay at during your visits to Birmingham.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Kendal from Athens, AL

Great place to stay.

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very nice and clean. It is in a nice area and off of the main road. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was fully loaded with kitchen supplies and a full size refrigerator which came in handy. They had a sign telling about flood damage they received in January, but there were no signs of any damage in the room (which was on the ground floor). I will definitely stay there again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Kendal, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review; and to also give us 5 stars!! We truly appreciate your business. We are glad you found the room to be fully loaded; and the staff to be friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Birmingham.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dan Petteys from Argyle, NY

Would stay another Candlewood

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I were in town for the Nascar Race. The comfort of the room was awesome. And we loved the Kitchen, it was so nice to have. And the surrounding area had a lot of resturants and shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for giving us such a positive review, we truly appreciate your staying with us. Glad you were able to enjoy Talladega Super Speedway, and please visit us again. So happy you were able to take advantage of our unique amenities; and found our location favorable. We look forward to seeing you again, Sincerely, Sara Marquart GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by misty n john from arizona

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Talladega Was so fun
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
misty n john, We are so happy you had a GREAT time at Talladega, and since you wrote us the review we can only imagine you enjoyed your stay at the hotel too. We are sure you found us convenient to the Speedway, as well as enjoyed all the restaurants around us. We'll see you next time Sara Marquart General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your 5 star rating of our hotel. We truly appreciate your business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Pamela & Paul from Baltimore

Great Stay at Candlewood Suites

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Perfect! We were visiting our son and the location was great. Shopping, restaurants right around the corner and close to Downtown site seeing and near-by Oak Mt. The room was clean and fully stocked with towels, dishes and pans for light cooking. Making breakfast was a snap.The hotel was under going renovations and was mentioned at check in. We were not bothered at all by any of it. We will be back. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We've tried very hard to make sure none of our guests were disturbed by the renovations. So glad you enjoyed your time in the city; and we are so happy to be able to serve you again when you are in town visiting your family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice clean, but outdated

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly staff, big room with all the amenities. The bed and d├ęcor was somewhat outdated but they have a nice workout room and a cupboard of food and sundry items at reasonable prices. A great area, with tons of shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review concerning your recent stay. We are glad you found the staff to be friendly, and the room clean. As well as took advantage of our workout room, and Candlewood Cupboard. Our bedding decor was most recently updated within the last year, I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations. We hope you stay with us again next time you are in the Birmingham area.