Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom H

Nice Stay following a long drive

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Great stay very close restaurants and stores. Easy to miss the turn to the rd accessing the hotel so make sure you have your phone gps on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MA

Nice home away from home

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: staff was friendly and helpful
Cons: pet area should be cleaner
Location: lots of restaurants and grocery stores around.
everything was just as we expected except for one thin; the amount of dog droppings all over the grass area where you can walk your dog. The hotel staff should make a stronger statement to their guests with pets at check-in time, and they should empty trash can more often. Besides that, everything else was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom birmingham, AL

Very nice

Posted Feb 21, 2015
The room was very nice for the price I paid. Everything was clean and the staff was very friendly. I thought it was very convenient that they had movies and board games there to check out. I enjoyed my trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mobile, AL

Comfortable and Spacious!

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Spacious...did not feel cramped and the late check out time was great too!
Location: Birmingham, AL. There are many attractions in Birmingham but we were there for a visit to UAB. There is a Zoo and plenty of shopping..
We stayed here for 2 nights. The beds were comfortable. I loved the fact that they had items they would loan you in a case at the front desk, from board games to a George Foreman grill. They had free laundry facilities. The hotel was clean and the front desk folks were really great. We were in town for a doctors visit and they showed concerned and were willing to help with any directions or simply offer suggestions of places to eat. We will be staying here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kendall Park, NJ

Good value

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Cons: Laundry Breakfast Housekeeping
Location: Location is great, close to all the shopping, just hwy 280 is always congested.
I relocated to Birmingham for the job and stayed at Candlewood a little over three weeks before moving in to my house. Overall, the hotel is of good value. The room was recently renovated and kept clean. The full size fridge/freezer, microwave and cooktop are really great for long-term stay. The bed is really comfortable and again, clean. Air conditioner is much quieter compared to many other places I stayed. I also enjoyed HBO and HGTV on the flatscreen. Internet wifi is free. There are a couple things that can be improved. 1) Laundry is free (great), but the washers and dryers need to be maintained. Only 3 out of 6 dryers were working, and nobody ever cleaned the lint filter. I had to clean every time when I used it, a bit disgusting. 2) No breakfast is a little disappointing. You can buy snacks (in the laundry room, which also is the gym) but it's not for people who like fresh eggs and fruits. 3) When you stay long-term, the house keeping only cleans the room once a week. I'm a neat freak and I cleaned my room everyday, especially the cooktop which I used. Would highly recommend at least twice a week for long-term guests. Also the garbage can on each floor should be collected more often.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect stay until

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Our experience took a nose dive when we went to take our showers and the shower head/ water pressure was the worst we have ever experienced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will stay here again.

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Room was very clean.
Staff was friendly. Great value. Bed is comfortable and all appliances worked well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Joel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom TN

Affordable and nice hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2014
We only stayed for overnight and I must say that the room we were assigned to exceeded my expectation considering the price we paid for. The place seemed safe. If you want a quiet room, stay away from the room near the laundry/gym area. The noise from there didn't really bothered us as we were too tired when we get there and literally just slept, but for some might be an issue. Overall we had a pleasant stay and would consider going back if we're in that area again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Orleans, LA

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Excellent staff! Rooms are nice and clean! Loved it!