Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mobile, AL

Comfortable and Spacious!

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Spacious...did not feel cramped and the late check out time was great too!
Location: Birmingham, AL. There are many attractions in Birmingham but we were there for a visit to UAB. There is a Zoo and plenty of shopping..
We stayed here for 2 nights. The beds were comfortable. I loved the fact that they had items they would loan you in a case at the front desk, from board games to a George Foreman grill. They had free laundry facilities. The hotel was clean and the front desk folks were really great. We were in town for a doctors visit and they showed concerned and were willing to help with any directions or simply offer suggestions of places to eat. We will be staying here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kendall Park, NJ

Good value

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Cons: Laundry Breakfast Housekeeping
Location: Location is great, close to all the shopping, just hwy 280 is always congested.
I relocated to Birmingham for the job and stayed at Candlewood a little over three weeks before moving in to my house. Overall, the hotel is of good value. The room was recently renovated and kept clean. The full size fridge/freezer, microwave and cooktop are really great for long-term stay. The bed is really comfortable and again, clean. Air conditioner is much quieter compared to many other places I stayed. I also enjoyed HBO and HGTV on the flatscreen. Internet wifi is free. There are a couple things that can be improved. 1) Laundry is free (great), but the washers and dryers need to be maintained. Only 3 out of 6 dryers were working, and nobody ever cleaned the lint filter. I had to clean every time when I used it, a bit disgusting. 2) No breakfast is a little disappointing. You can buy snacks (in the laundry room, which also is the gym) but it's not for people who like fresh eggs and fruits. 3) When you stay long-term, the house keeping only cleans the room once a week. I'm a neat freak and I cleaned my room everyday, especially the cooktop which I used. Would highly recommend at least twice a week for long-term guests. Also the garbage can on each floor should be collected more often.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect stay until

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Our experience took a nose dive when we went to take our showers and the shower head/ water pressure was the worst we have ever experienced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will stay here again.

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Room was very clean.
Staff was friendly. Great value. Bed is comfortable and all appliances worked well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom TN

Affordable and nice hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2014
We only stayed for overnight and I must say that the room we were assigned to exceeded my expectation considering the price we paid for. The place seemed safe. If you want a quiet room, stay away from the room near the laundry/gym area. The noise from there didn't really bothered us as we were too tired when we get there and literally just slept, but for some might be an issue. Overall we had a pleasant stay and would consider going back if we're in that area again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Orleans, LA

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Excellent staff! Rooms are nice and clean! Loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lewisville, NC

Great Place

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Condition
Location: Shops, Restaurants
This was a very nice hotel. It apparently has just been renovated, and it is very nice. There are plenty of restaurants nearby to eat, and it is convenient to the highway. I would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Nashville, TN

Surprising Disappointment

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: The price was reasonable.
Cons: This hotel needs at least another elevator located on the other side where most of the rooms are. Make sure the room amenities are operational.
Location: Traffic, traffic, traffic. At least a 30 minute wait in slow rolling traffic morning noon and night. Plenty of fast food around if you can get to it
After reading the reviews I thought this would be a good choice. Well I was wrong. First off my room was at the far end of the hotel making the hike to the elevator way too long. The first room I received had a leaking fridge. The next room was not only further down the hall from the elevator but the ice maker did not work. After the long walk and changing rooms I just gave up and accepted it as is. Every door in the place closes unless you hold them open which makes going anywhere with your hands full difficult. The bathroom sink is not separate from the toilet/tub area. The beds were very uncomfortable. I usually have no problem with hotel beds but this one made my back and neck hurt. Other than free laundry facilities and a fairly cheap rate there were not a whole lot of positive points. Was able to find the problem to the ice maker on the last day...seems the valve under the sink for the water to it was turned off. A big disappointment to say the least. Also, the traffic going to and from this hotel is horrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kelliefrom Oklahoma City

Great Stay!

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Absolutely enjoyed our stay!!! Staff is Wonderful! The front desk staff on check in was friendly and gave exemplatory service. The area where we stayed is beautiful. It is up on a tree filled hill that looks down on the city. We highly recommend! Oh and the price was right too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Davefrom Ft. Pierce,Fl

Dave

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice area.Hotel personnel were helpful and curteous.Free laundry was a nice touch.Overall a very nice experience.