Ratings based on 228 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty hotel, staff not very knowledagble

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything form the condition of the hotel to staff helpfulness.
Location: It's very close to the airport, that's the only reason I stayed
The hotel smells weird and the hallways are dirty. The front desk personnel knew nothing about the area and gave bad information about the shuttle going to the airport.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

DISAPPOINTING STAFF

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: The hotel room itself was clean, the bed was comfortable.
Cons: The toilette in room filled very slowly and was loud doing so. Things like small cork-screws should be in the room or available. Porters for bags.
Location: I wouldn't go outside, it was in a very scary area.
For me, the staff at a hotel make the difference between a "stay" and "an enjoyable experience". When I first checked in there was no one to help me with me bags, so I had to unload my bags from my car and cart everything into the hotel and up to room. I have a very bad back and this was a major thing for me. Secondly, I invited my daughter and son-in-law to my room to enjoy a glass of wine and there was no cork-screw in my room. When I went down to the front desk the staff member there didn't have a clue if there was supposed to be or the hotel just didn't provide them. The front desk staff told me to check with the bar. When I went to bar, the woman behind the bar was very sarcastic. When I told her that every hotel I've ever stayed in provided small cork-screws in the room and she said very sarcastically "Welcome to the Clarion". Who needs that. She said if I wanted the bottle open, I had to go back up to my room and bring down the bottle, which I did. When I wanted to check out I called down to the desk and asked for someone to bring down my bags, the girl said it would be 5 to 10 minutes. 15 minutes later I had to do it myself. I had to check my rental car back in and was in a rush. Would I ever stay here again..................NEVER!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ripon ca

there no dining areas nearby

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Cons: add a 24/7 coffee shop
Location: dine and shop
theres no dining shopping areas nearby............................................................
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Questionable acceptability

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Location, airport shuttle, and employees.
Cons: Cleanliness, odor control (carpets/furniture cleaned occasionally).
Location: Near airport and next to highway; no convenient restaurants/shopping in area.
Upon arrival in room, AC was not working - got a different room. Unpleasant odors permeated the room each day- a moldy, dank smell (bring air freshener). Bathrooms were marginal in cleanliness. Carpets and furniture were dirty. Ceiling was peeling from past water damage. Exercise equipment in the fitness center not working. This hotel is in need of renovation. The buffet breakfast (not free) was equivalent to a free breakfast buffets at other hotels. Location was convenient to airport and highways. Employees were very courteous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and good buy

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Like being close to airport and having parking included.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego ca

Close to airport

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Staff was nice but rooms were crammed and outlets didn't work.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Stay somewhere else

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: A/C and fitness room.
Location: Don't stay in hotels near the airport.
A/C not on when arrived in room, must have been 90 degrees. Had to turn it on and leave for a while, and it took several hours to get the room cooled adequately. Tried using the fitness equipment, the first three pieces I tried were broken. The weight machine was literally falling apart. This hotel wants $5 for a breakfast that's complimentary in most other hotels. I have stayed in some nice Clarion hotels before, but this is not one of them.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cincinnati, ohio

Decent place for the money

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Have had better and have had worse. Pretty clean mattress and pillows could have been better quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by San from Arkansas

Birmingham visit

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The accommodations were very nice, centrally located to the wedding reception and restaurants.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by disappointed from colorado

disppointed

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Reading other reviews I expected more from the hotel. The breakfast looked awful and tasted like it looked. There was no juice, coffee was bad. Did not have spoons to eat cereal. The room did not look clean. Closet doors were stuck shut. Bathroom was just okay. Would not recommend or stay here again.