Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice B&B great value and wonderful breakfast

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Had a great time! Great restoration of a beautiful old home!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alabama

Nice weekend get-away.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Loved the Victorian home. Full of wonderful antiques.
Cons: Room temperature was a little cool. But it was in the low 30's outside.
Location: The Inn is located in the older part of town. Streets were narrow and busy. Quite noisy until around 2 a.m. Eateries were abundant.
Had trouble checking in. Accommodations were great. Food was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Columbus, GA

Our New Favorite

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: It was beautiful, the rooms were comfortable, there was free wifi, it was conveniently located, the hospitality was phenomenal.
Location: Downtown Birmingham was right around the corner
Cobb Lane was wonderful! Sheila made us feel right at home immediately. The house is beautiful and the rooms are comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and Ira was a lovely host. Though we didn't plan it, Cobb Lane was just minutes from everything we were doing in Birmingham. This has become our only option for stays in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Great character, Close to restaurants/bars

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Location: Great location within walking distance to many restaurants, bars, and parks. Less than a 15 min. drive to most of the main attractions in Birmingham
Cobb Lane has great character. It cost slightly less than some of the hotels in the downtown area - and offered much more personality! The breakfast was nice -- it was great to meet some other travelers and chat with the owner over a home-cooked meal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: It was unique. Each room was decorated with a particular theme. We stayed in the Camelot Room with Guinevere, Lancelot and a horse from a carousel.
Cons: It would have been helpful to have a place to put luggage.
Location: Close to restaurants and museums. We spent most of the day at the Birmingham Civil Rights Museum.
We had a wonderful stay at the Hasinger Daniel House. It was magnificently decorated with lots of antiques. Breakfast took place with a formal setting which made me feel I was dining at Downton Abby! The staff was gracious and helpful. Sheila's background as an architect, is evident in every unique corner of this B&B. It was a five star experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Alexandria, LA

1st Time at a B&B

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Location: Bars and restaurants in walking distance.
We were upgraded to the Hassinger Daniels Mansion. It was GREAT! The room (Camelot) was very spacious and the sounds of an old house reminded us of our childhood. Downtown Bham can be a little loud with all of the sirens and such; but we did not hear anything bc the house is on an off street away from most traffic. We felt safe at this location. Easy access to the house but parking might be a problem if they were at full occupancy. We DID NOT have any parking problems though. Definitely a must if in Bham.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hannover

A very pretty B&B

Posted Nov 11, 2014
I liked it so much!! Only the fact that I had to climb up to the top floor (3rd) with my 20kg suitcase without a lift was a bit tough... other than that, everything was great, although I didn't get to meet the owner in person, she directed me very kindly what to do via phone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Birmingham, AL

Beautiful house for romantic getaway

Posted Nov 5, 2014
It's a beautiful house!! It was a wonderful staycation for my girlfriend & I. We live in Birmingham, so I planned it so we could have a romantic evening & my girlfriend loved it!! Mrs Sheila is a wonderful host & person!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Cobb Lane or Hassinger Daniels B&B

Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Both of these B&Bs are owned and managed by the same people. VERY Victorian furnishings make your stay a true experience. Sheila is a very attentive and helpful hostess. You are close to everything you want to do in Birmingham via bicycle or the trolley.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Needs some love and attention :(

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
I am not sure who has been staying here but reviews need updating as far as the "Zebra Room" is concerned. We did not get to have breakfast either day due to schedule/plans so I can't comment on that. But here are my concerns: No in room thermostat to regulate temp, was hot then cold and continued that way. The bathroom was not very clean (urine, hair and general filth all around toliet), baseboards and walls dirty. Exterior is sad need of repair due to major rotting problems, inside room I got out of bed and due to cramped space between bed and exterior wall my foot hit the baseboard and foot went right through the rotted boards. Bed very uncomfortable mattress needs to be thrown away and start over, the pillows were about an inch thick and had to take pillows out of shams to get any comfort. The description fails to mention the bar that is behind the house that is open until after midnight. We were unable to consistently get the Wifi in the basement room. The blankets on bed and extras were in bad need of washing/refreshing. You can tell the home was at one time a glorious B&B but has has become neglected and needs some serious love. Wish we had chosen to stay inside but due to schedule I liked idea of the exterior room access, but the basement room was not a good choice.