Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Ask 4 room on FRONT side of hotel/great breakfast

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Free breakfast and free wi-fi. Black pearl restaurant just down the street was FABULOUS and so was Edgar's Bakery. There is no in room snacks.
Cons: Clean the room phones- my rooms needed it. Also, that air freshener used at the end of the cleaning is pungent (headache). Try a lighter Febreeze.
Location: Black pearl restaurant (thai/ASIAN) just down the street was FABULOUS and so was Edgar's Bakery. No in room or in-hotel alcohol, so bring your own.
Back side of the hotel has 459 HIGHWAY (major perimeter of Birmingham) DIRECTLY behind it. I'm in NO WAY a light sleeper, and even I couldn't sleep with the noisy highway sounds of the night. The next night I was on the front side and could not hear the highway at all. Great pillow choices. The free breakfast was very good with oatmeal, bagels, toasts, cereal, fresh u-make-'em waffles, fruit along with eggs a meat. Coffee (good) was ready every morning by 6:25. Kitchen staff was very friendly, efficient and breakfast area very clean. For the price, it was a very good value. ESPN2 but no tennis channel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Stayed one night

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: The room was comfortable. The air conditioning was not on when we got to the room but it had cooled down nicely by the time we got back from dinner
Cons: One of the beds made a lot of noise when you moved which was very annoying. I mentioned it to the owner when we checked out. The other bed was fine.
Location: There is a shopping center near by with food options.
We stayed one night on our way home. It was fine for a one night stay. We did not use the pool or any amenities. Breakfast was standard but good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathy from Hazel Green, AL

Very accommodating.

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Accommodating staff and proximity to Children's South Hospital
Location: Not much really nearby.
This was my second stay, here. We go to Birmingham for grandchildren having procedures at Children's South Hospital. This is the nearest hotel to the hospital. They are very accommodating, to people who are not able to have breakfast, before their surgery. They let one of us go back to take breakfast buffet to the room, while the other stays at the hospital. That way, we can all have breakfast (patient included). The only downside is that there are no stores or fast food nearby. If you want a relaxing place to stay, this is it.
3 out of 5
by cissie from memphis

Posted Jun 16, 2014
This hotel is dated and is in need of upgrades. The air conditioner never quite removed the humidity from the room. The one ice machine was on the ground floor which necessitated dragging our cooler down and then back up to our room. The same hot items were served both mornings. A variety would have been nice. The room was overpriced for what it was.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Tricia Howell from Eutaw, AL

Unpleasant stay

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room faced interstate I-459. Could not sleep for traffic/18 -wheelers roaring by all night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is the second year we have stayed at this hotel and will again. It is close to several restaurants and shopping venues. The beds are comfortable and there is plenty of room to move around in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

good rooms, good service, good breakfast

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Located in an office park with restaurants and other shopping a short drive away. No fitness center. Breakfast included pre-fab eggs, sausage, waffles and whole fruit. Room was updated, but they kept the low sink (wish they'd raised it up when adding granite). Bed was comfy, wifi worked well, computer with printer available. Overall very happy with my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chad from MS Gulf Coast

Clean and Comfortable

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good as well, with real food rather than "continental" choices. The only issue we had was the TV was set in retail display mode, so messages about the sound quality and picture of the TV set continuously appeared on the screen. No one at the hotel was able to fix it during out 3 day visit. Otherwise, I recommend the hotel and would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Buddy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com