Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK.

Don't expect a good relaxing stay.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
So unbearably hot. No air con. Really sweaty room. Walls super thin and huge amounts of road works outside every windows. So loud. Thought the price was too good to be true. That and the location is the reason why I would stay here again. I think it'd be ok in a cooler season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut USA

Convenient to town

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Friendly helpful staff and convenience to centre of Birmingham
Cons: Wi-fi should be basic in all hotels these days
Location: Everything that Birmingham has to offer, which is a lot more than non-Brummies imagine
Unpretentious, but adequate, and helpful staff. Main problem: the rooms are inadequately ventilated and in hot weather very stuffy.Internet connection in-room grossly over-charged.
3 out of 5
by Douglas from London

Impossible to turn off the heat!

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: It was cheap and near the rail stations
Cons: See above
Location: It is in a central location but I would say that if you can get something else for a similar price you may do better
The room was on the top floor and the lift was out of service the entire time. It was warm outside but the radiators were on top heat. I tried to adjust the knob but it did nothing. Calls to the front desk were responded with by that I needed to turn the knob but they never bothered coming up the steep stairs to see if they could assist ( I can't blame them for not wanting to go up the stairs). In any case I had to wedge both windows open in the bathroom and the bedroom and just managed to go to sleep by not getting under the covers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlotte from Ohio

Hotel was just right

Posted May 16, 2014
My granddaughters and I love the hotel and the location. room was clean and the hotel people was the best .and the thing I like bests was everything In town was walking distance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from Bicester

Could be better

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: The price.
Cons: The whole place could do with a refurbishment. I stayed there about 5 years ago and I don't think it's been decorated in the intervening years.
Location: Very close to the shops and transport hubs.
I arrived in Birmingham well before check in time and they were very happy to look after my bag until I returned to check in later in the day. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tim from Street

Great location

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very convenient, just near new street station. Living condition is not good though. But price is cheap, just 30 pounds, it's the point right?
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by nevin lobo from London.

Good overall

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
value for money ....7/10
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jmead from Exeter

Great location and good value

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is perfect for a one or two night stay. A quick 5 minute walk to New Street train station. Although the hotel could do with a spruce up it was comfortable and clean, the staff were friendly and efficient at their job. For the price it was very good value and I would stay here again. Wifi was unreliable and expensive in the room (4th floor) but was fast and free in the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Comfort at the comfort

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: Good clean facilities.
Cons: We got checked up on for covering smoke alarm when actually I knocked it off when I walked into the room with my bag...felt like an accusation!
Location: Birmingham city centre so skies the limit!
Great location, rooms clean and tidy. Nice bathrooms.