Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Muskogee, OK

Elegant hotel

Posted May 23, 2015
Elegant hotel, spacious room, pretty views. The attached restaurant was very good. Service was excellent. Valet service was convenient. I enjoyed the views of the surrounding buildings such as the library. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BDA

Historic Downtown Birmingham Hotel

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, history, position downtown, shuttle, excellent breakfast buffet, helpful staff, coffee and tea in the downstairs lounge and so much more!
Cons: Some of the staff have numerous responsibilities and this could lead to errors being made.
Location: Excellent location- walked to the historic 16th St. Baptist Church and Bryan Park as well as the Civil Rights Museum. This is one of the BEST museums
The Tutwiler provided us with a historic oasis in downtown Birmingham. The staff were very helpful and eagerly responded to all our requests. We were only there overnight, but we were able to see a few of the historic downtown attractions. Our room was terrific- clean and very comfortable with all that we had hoped for- a very comfortable bed, clean and functional bathroom as well as the usual room amenities such as a coffee maker and flat screen TV. We would happily stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic Charm in Birmingham

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Staff, building
Cons: Rooms were a little dated
Staff was so friendly. Really exemplified "Southern Hospitality". Building was beautiful and had modern amenities. Location wasn't too great since it was a little further from "nightlife" but I didn't mind too much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Upstate New York

Stay in Downtown Birmingham!

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Everything - the location, historic building, service, the valet parking, the fresh flowers and 24 hour complimentary tea/coffee service in the lobby.
Location: We didn't have time to take advantage of all that was available nearby. But, we tried. Great location. Very easy on/off the highway location.
From the moment we checked into the Tutwiler, we were happy that we chose this hotel. There was a three day art festival in progress at nearby Linn Park. Although we arrived before 4 PM, the official check-in time, the staff took care of our bags, and we strolled off to enjoy the huge display of arts & crafts, food, and friendly people without a care. Our rooms were spacious, our king sized beds were completely comfortable and the complimentary breakfasts in the 8th floor breakfast rooms were generous. We ate one dinner in the hotel dining room that turned out to be one of our best meals during our stay in the City, good food, wine and excellent service. We walked to the nearby Art Museum for a fine exhibit of Dutch miniatures, spent hours walking through Civil Rights Institute and the 6th Street Baptist Church, and everywhere we went, we found friendly people who are proud of the way their city has changed for the better. Our last morning, we went to the Linn-Henley Research library across from our hotel to see the early 20th Century murals that were refreshed and restored in the 1980's. We would definitely stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Spacious rooms, ideal location

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Location: The state library across the street from the hotel is well worth a visit!
We really enjoyed our stay at the Tutwiler. It is truly a reincarnation of the original Dinkler-Tutwiler that we remembered from our childhoods. Our room was huge and very nicely appointed. Of course, the beds were up to Hampton Inns high standard of comfort. Everything was super clean and comfortable. We stayed in for dinner at the hotel's restaurant and had a delicious meal. And breakfast was ample and good. The location of the hotel is also perfect. So, we will definitely stay there any time we come back to Birmingham.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom munich

Elegant Hotel in the City centre

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Nicely renovated, nicely decorated. Interesting Foto-exhibit of the town history. Good wines.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Charming, historic hotel, but short on staff

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: The room was overall comfortable, the bed great. Enjoyed view over the city. Loved the historic photos of B'ham in hotel! Restaurant has great food!
Cons: There should be more cleaning staff during busy times. Desk personnel was not particularly friendly. Prof. carpet cleaning necessary in room 613.
Location: Good central location in the city.
The room was as comfortable and clean as we've come to expect it from a Hampton Inn. I also always enjoy the breakfast at Hampton Inns everywhere. HOWEVER, regarding the service, this was the weakest Hampton Inn we have been to. During the 4 days at the Tutwiler several issues bothered us. First, we wished we had known that we will be charged $25 a night for parking in their lot. While it was Valet parking, we tipped the (friendly, professional!) Valets, thinking that would take care of that. Secondly, we had trouble getting our room cleaned...After it wasn't done the first day, we kindly asked the staff to have the room cleaned the next day between 12 and 4 PM, so we could come home and change for an evening event. We are really not that picky, but when we returned, only the bed was freshly made, but no other cleaning was done, garbage was full and there were no towels. Additionally, the TV remote and the iron were barely working. The staff did eventually send someone up with a different iron and a new remote, which we appreciated. We realize that they had an overwhelming amount of people over that weekend - two or three weddings - but it seems essential to have plenty of staff in place during such busy times. Since the staff was also not very friendly (except for the ladies cleaning), I wondered if there is or was a managment issue at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location was great

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Convenient. Great shuttle service restaurants nearby. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom P

Excellent hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2015
We stayed here because it was close to the BJCC and we were going to a concert that night. It was perfect walking distance and we had no trouble finding it. Perfect for if you're going to the BJCC for something. It's a very nice hotel with vallet parking, so you don't have to worry about finding a spot. I would recommend this place to anyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Will return here. That's all I have to say. Stop asking for more words or I will change my rating!