Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
smells terrible room was really really hot didn't have all the linen in the room also adds an extra charge to credit card without informing you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phenix City AL

Mixing business with pleasure

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The price.....I shopped online and chose HGI due to the best price of $99 a night. Also, free internet and parking were deciding factors!
Cons: free continental breakfast (the breakfast buffet was excellent but we were not prepare to spend that much for breakfast), outdoor pool, deeper pool
Location: Very, very convenient to the asssessment center located at H&R Block that I was going to and multiple places to eat.
Richard was very helpful and friendly from the initial online reservation to checking in. Disappointed the spa tub wasnt in working order but enjoyed the indoor pool. The shower drained VERY slowly but everything was clean and best of all: the little things my teenage daughter forgot at home were provided to us at the front desk (shampoo, razor, toothpaste) at no cost.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful spur of the moment place to stay.

Posted Feb 10, 2014
They were very welcoming. They were very helpful with getting around Birmingham.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SK from SC USA

Hilton Garden Inn Homewood AL Good place to stay

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Pros: Very clean spacious rooms large bathroom and good breakfast available cooked to order for a charge.Nice exercise room and indoor pool.Good location .
Cons: The driveway is very steep and during the storm several cars could not make it up.Also the parking lot should have been cleared off and wasnt.
Location: Off Lakeshore Drive near a Lowes, Walmart, Sams Club.Chilis , Mcdonalds and other chain restaurants nearby close to Samford University,Brookwood area.
We stayed for 5 nights in Jan we were caught in the bad ice storm that happened on the 28th and the hotel was very accommodating to us when we returned that evening the lobby was filled with people stranded from the snow and ice they provided heaters in the lobby and let people stay there overnight.Unless you had a 4 wheel drive vehicle like us the roads were impassable on the 28th with the major interstates littered with abandoned vehicles.I immediately extended our reservation another night knowing we would be unable to leave Wed as planned it still took us 12 hours to get back(normally 8) to SC because I-20 on Thursday was jammed with cars and another truck had jacknifed across the road we headed north and then across into Georgia (Atlanta)still had problems getting through that city because of traffic and the storm.The hotel staff were very courteous during this difficult couple of days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

VERY NICE.

Posted Feb 5, 2014
My family andI enjoyed our stay at this facility.Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend getaway

Posted Feb 3, 2014
The staff was excellent, room was clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from Birmingham

Cozy Standard King

Posted Feb 1, 2014
My stay was incredible. Smells great, beautiful look and comfy!! I'll definitely be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by craig h from boxs

I am a truck driver needed a real bed for once

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Iam an otr truck driver and havent been home in months never mind slept in a real bed i chose the hilton garden inn because it was affordable. Everthing was what i hoped it would be clean comfortable and friendly the staff was very acomadating and if i get back to birmingham i know where iam staying
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Nashville, TN

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: Convenient to our trip destination.
Cons: Dissappointed with the room rate from Expedia. If I'd made the reservation directly I would have received the same rate plus a 10% AARP discount.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2014