Ratings based on 268 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hong Kong

Comfortable

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Swimming pool, jacuzzi , the gym and the steam room.
Cons: Customer service needs to be a lot more initiative.
Shuttle service increase the hotel's competitiveness. I was flying out of the country and so as some other patrons.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

It helps to get the right Holiday Inn

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Good value for the money and only £18 from the airport by cab. The rooms were clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Conway NH USA

Made a Sad Visit a Pleasant Visit

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: The staff and the complimentary shuttle bus
Cons: The bed was a bit soft for my tastes and it would be great to have a clock in the room.
Location: It takes 10-15 minutes to get to the rail station. From there, it is about a 15 minute trip to downtown Birmingham (New Street).
I had booked a trip to the UK to attend a funeral of a close friend. When I arrived, it was before the posted check in time. The front desk happily looked to see if my room was available and checked me in. In the course of coming to Birmingham, I had to change planes in Paris. Because of a non response to boarding hail in Boston, we were delayed. I made my plane but I had a sick feeling my luggage did not, and it did not. I filled out the paperwork, did ask because of a funeral the next day would they prioritise it at the luggage desk. At 3:00pm I received a call from the front desk saying my luggage arrived. When I said I would be right there, they offered to save me the trouble and brought my luggage directly to my room. A huge convenience is the complimentary shuttle to Birmingham International Airport and Train Station. It runs every half hour until 11:00am then hourly until about 4:30 when it resumes half hour runs. It was a big money saver plus the driver is one of the nicest people I have met! For getting to downtown Birmingham this shuttle to the rail and bus station is a big convenience. Although on the outskirts of the airport, it is very quiet. The only things I would comment on is the bed is a bit on the soft side for my taste and there is no clock in the room. Almost every hotel I have stayed in has had a clock whether in the US or UK. I would highly recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom PLYMOUTH

close to NEC

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: location to NEC
Cons: staff could be a little warmer and rooms should be made comfortable before occupation.
Location: very close to NEC and easy to get to
Room was on the lower ground floor and was very cold on entry, the room felt like an underground bunker. disappointing. Also had an evening meal in the restaurant, again disappointing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bath

OK but not OK enough!

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The 2nd room was good. The shuttle service to the Monorail is also good.
Cons: Price and quality of food and drink.
Location: Good for Birmingham Airport, NEC and LG Arena.
We stayed at this Hotel twice in one month. On the first occasion we stayed and parked for 1 week. On the 2nd occasion we stayed just one night. The first time we stayed in a ground floor room that was in need of an update. On the 2nd we were in a 1st floor re-furbished room that was better. The staff here were good but the facilities were not. The food was poor but expensive as was the drink. Couldn't understand how the one night stay with parking cost more than the week parking plus one night!!!! We were charged £8 for parking the one night!! but nothing for the week. Madness!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom worcestershire

Convenient hotel for NEC and LG Arena

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Shuttle bus made everything so much easier. Good quality bed linen and towels, great power shower.
Cons: Mattress in need of replacement in my opinion.
Location: Perfectly located for airport, NEC and LG Arena.
This hotel was exactly as I expected, good basic facilities and excellent cleanliness. My only gripes were that the room was a little cold initially but the oil filled radiator , once switched on, soon had it nice and toasty. I also wasn't overly impressed with the bed, felt like my head was lower than my feet and a dip in the middle. However, room (standard double) was small but perfectly formed, linen all of good quality and shower was excellent. We used the complimentary shuttle bus to get to and from the LG Arena which was fantastic, make sure you exit show promptly though as the last shuttle from the NEC / LG Arena is 11.15 and rather popular!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

excellent

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Simonfrom shavington cheshire

never again !!

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
check in was ok, room was lovely. however seeing as it was only my wife and I staying why was the settee set up as a bed ? drinks are beyond expensive ! nearly £12 for a pint of average lager and a glass of average Rose wine is taking the mickey ! the bar area was taken over by a wedding reception ?? didnt feel comfortable when we sat down for a drink at all. especially later on when they started fighting which then spilled out onto the entrance steps where we were having a cigarette. this was frightening to say the least. Breakfast was good, although we did have to wait for a while before we got a drink.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Katefrom London

Tired looking hotel with nice staff

Posted Nov 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very tired in/out. Rooms are very small, old textiles yet Im very pleased to say room cleanless was very clean. Tea making facilities in a room was a great adition. Due yo restaurant & bar bring open plan the whole downstairs smelled of vinegar as good served wasnt nice. The reception staff is an asset to this hotel friendly yet professional. Parking should be free for residents instead it will cost you £8 extra.