Ratings based on 256 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Tired and worn

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Superficial things done to spruce up but bathroom needed renovation 10 yes ago...making feel dirty. AC did not work well. When worked in my room never worked in hall. Unsavory types accosted me repeatedly in parking lot and each time by the time I got inside security guard was talking to staff at reception or sitting in restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from British Columbia, Canada

Convenient but in disrepair

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: close proximity to airport
Cons: food, maintenance
The room and hotel itself were clean. Staff were courteous and generally helpful, and the room was clean. The most memorable part of the stay was that the hotel and rooms are in disrepair. Shockingly amateur attempts at maintenance, particularly in the bathroom were concerning. Breakfast buffet, which I mistook for a free continental, was below average. When I finished I received a bill, and if work wasn't paying for my trip meals, I would have complained. Thankfully Birmingham has many great places to eat, and I didn't make the same mistake on the second morning of my stay. It wasn't a "terrible" experience, but I certainly would explore other options before staying here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LaPlace

Dark and Smokey

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness, maintenance, adherence to non-smoking policy
Location: The location is right off of the Interstate and near the airport.
After 12.5 hours on the road, I was glad to get to my resting point only to find that my room in this smoke-free hotel was anything butt (pun intended) with burns in the curtains and that three of the room's light fixtures were inoperative. To avoid associated charges, I requested management to inspect the room. They were apologetic and accommodating, moving me to a less filthy room and giving me vouchers for free cocktails and breakfast for my trouble. A nice gesture but I won't be returning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the airport. Far from clean.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
It is obvious that the one thing keeping this hotel alive is it's proximity to the airport. The bathroom comes complete with long black hairs all over the "clean" bathroom. The furnishings in the room have a very rustic aged finish to them. It fits perfectly with the country chic look that is very popular in some areas of the country right now. They have an amazing shower. You get to take a shower and a bath at the same time. Yep, you can take a bath for just under an hour without worrying about the drain plug. The air conditioner doubles as a rug shampoo machine. Although it is only effective to about three feet around the unit. Not sure if that was worth their investment or not. Next time, I'll probably stay downtown. They have shuttles as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Only If You Must Be Near the Airport

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Room and beds were neat and clean. The staff was really very, very nice. Free internet in room.
Cons: The pool was old and small, and the restaurant food inedible. Need more electrical plug-ins.
Location: Close to airport.
We needed to be at the airport very early, so we selected a hotel very near the airport. And, this one is--roughly 5 minutes away. The staff is very nice and the rooms are really o.k.--clean and neat. There are insufficient electrical plug-ins for today's laptops and smart phones, and the television was quite grainy. The pool was just old and small. The only really bad part was the food at the restaurant. It was literally inedible, but again, the waitress was very nice and tried to accommodate. The bottom line is that in retrospect, I would have driven a little further for a nicer hotel, but it served the purpose.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Just What I Needed Near to the Airport

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The people working at the hotel were paying attention to their jobs. They were relaxed but prompt. That was very welcoming.
Cons: They may need to take a look at the air conditioning unit.
Location: I had read on the internet that the neighborhood was not great, so I was expecting that. I did feel comfortable and safe in the hotel.
My experience was very good. I was checked in promptly. Everything was okay in the room. I ate in the hotel restaurant and enjoyed the meal. In the morning, I had a quick checkout and, after a short wait, was zipped to the airport. My only/main issue was the air conditioning unit which was very loud. I finally decided to turn it off so I could sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2014
The overall visit was good. Traffic, planes & AC noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall nice experience at the hotel. only problem was the shower temperature. I could not get it to be warm. Having a cold shower was a problem. Did not complain because I had to get up early for a flight, so I lived with it. Hope the hotel can address the problem. Thank you
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

My stay

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is convenient to airport with easy access from the interstate, however, the A/ C was noisy and could not be controlled by the guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com