Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel in good downtown location

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Hotel Highland is cute and staff are nice, trying hard. Room had a musty smell to it. Towels very thin - and kept outside of bathroom in closet! Bartender did not have any chardonnay and didn't seem to know anything about wine. But front desk clerk was attentive; breakfast was included and satisfactory. Would try it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montgomery, AL

Enjoyable stay. Will definitely return.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Had a last minute, unexpected trip to Birmingham to visit my best friend who was at nearby UAB Hospital. I wanted to take my toy poodles, so I wouldn't have to drive back and forth to my home and so I'd also be close enough to check on them and take them for walks in Five Points. The hotel experience was perfect in every way and made it so easy for me to spend time with my friend and his family.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Couldn't stay there

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Change my mind after seeing the inside of the hotel and its location did not seem like a very safe place and I did not want to leave my car in that area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely wonderful!

Posted May 29, 2014
After finding bedbugs at the Redmont Hotel, we moved hotels and stayed at the Hotel Highland. The staff was amazing! They were so welcoming and pleasant. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The decor was updated and modern. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Meredith from Round Rock, TX

Great hotel!

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Loved the charm of the hotel being a little bit older with modern flair.
This is a great hotel with several eating establishments within walking distance. The rooms were clean, WiFi was easy to connect to, breakfast was good and staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heather from Nashville, TN

Lovely hotel, friendly staff

Posted Mar 14, 2014
My husband and I stayed last weekend and found this hotel to be very clean and charming. The staff was so friendly and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jay from Nashville, TN

Birmingham Unplanned Layover

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Everything except the baths. D├ęcor is terrific, if your taste runs to the modern or contemporary styles.
Cons: Two people cannot share the bathroom. At least not in our city view King.
Location: The Five Points south location is as good as it gets.
Terrific little Boutique Hotel. Two doors down from a great restaurant we stumbled into. Very convenient, as they even share the same parking valet. My mark down on the room comfort is due to a vey small bathroom that was challenging for two people to share. Everything else was great. Will definitely look for an excuse to do it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location especially for walking to eat

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: air conditioning
Location: good atmosphere and eateries
It was good time. lasjflaejoiawjgtpqw 4tp-sjfjgljgljgljgljijgoigjiahgoierhgpierg
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from New York

Neighborhood Gem!

Posted Jan 28, 2014
I chose this hotel because of the proximity to U of Alabama - not realizing this was the wrong location!! We should have been near U of A - Tuscaloosa! But was happy we had a great little boutique hotel with friendly staff - Andi for the evening and Gloria in the morning. The room was nicely decorated - two flat screen TV's internet access etc. we had a suite - two full beds - living room area and small sink and refrig. Everything was spotless! Quiet night, Sunday,left Monday morning to dicover our location was totally wrong and we would have to find a way to Tuscaloosa - taxi wanted $100. ! Gloria and her associate were so kind after being stressed, they were so helpful with a rental car service nearby. Car came and Picked us up and off we went to TUSCALOOSA! I thought it would be a place aI would return to when visiting the campus! But I highly recommend it! Breakfast in the morning too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tracy from Nashville

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com