Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel in good downtown location

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Hotel Highland is cute and staff are nice, trying hard. Room had a musty smell to it. Towels very thin - and kept outside of bathroom in closet! Bartender did not have any chardonnay and didn't seem to know anything about wine. But front desk clerk was attentive; breakfast was included and satisfactory. Would try it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montgomery, AL

Enjoyable stay. Will definitely return.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Had a last minute, unexpected trip to Birmingham to visit my best friend who was at nearby UAB Hospital. I wanted to take my toy poodles, so I wouldn't have to drive back and forth to my home and so I'd also be close enough to check on them and take them for walks in Five Points. The hotel experience was perfect in every way and made it so easy for me to spend time with my friend and his family.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Couldn't stay there

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Change my mind after seeing the inside of the hotel and its location did not seem like a very safe place and I did not want to leave my car in that area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely wonderful!

Posted May 29, 2014
After finding bedbugs at the Redmont Hotel, we moved hotels and stayed at the Hotel Highland. The staff was amazing! They were so welcoming and pleasant. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The decor was updated and modern. Highly recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Brian Estess from Tupelo, MS

Nice Hotel - Area has gone downhill!

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was okay. 10 years ago, this hotel would be perfect for a weekend getaway in Birmingham. The parking is a pain, and the one valet was a little overwhelmed when our three vehicles arrived at same time. The 5 Points area has really gone downhill over the past 5 years. There is absolutely nothing around anymore. Where you used to could have walked to lots of nearby bars, etc., now you better have a security guard with you to walk across the street. If you have to go to 5 Points area, I would suggest this hotel, but if not, I would choose a different area of Birmingham.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tom from Knoxville, TN

Tuesday night in Tornado Town

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
I really like this hotel. Extremely friendly staff. If you're not addicted to the formulaic hotel thing, the Highland may be just the ticket. The Five Points area is an eclectic mix of some truly great restaurants and an eclectic mix of other spots. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and attractively decorated. I will go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Doug from Alabama

Another satisfied customer

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everyone was very pleased with the motel and the ease of making the reservations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rudy from Oregon

Great 4 night stay

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
large and comfortable room in a neighborhood with some great restaurants really added a level of unexpected enjoyment to my business trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 13, 2014 on Hotels.com