Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Welwyn Garden City

Birmingham Blues

Posted Jul 18, 2014
The reception staff were helpful and courteous. The room was OK, but in need of some serious TLC (sockets loose, carpet dirty, wallpaper coming away, room needed painting). The furnishings and bathroom were passable. Drink making facilities were provided in the room. Very limited breakfast choice. This was a poor choice on my part and I expected better from Howard Johnson.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

lobby looked nice

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and the room was neat
Cons: Need some serious structural repair work and probably some new mattresses -- awfully soft.
Location: Burger king across the street
We were disappointed because the pool was closed for renovation. After 2 days on the road it would have been nice to relax in the swimming pool.
1 out of 5
by Sunny from Panama City, FL

You get what you pay for.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Location: It's very close to the Birmingham Zoo.
The bathroom walls were crumbling and the light flickered several times before it came on. The commode probably uses 3 gallons to flush. The sheets appeared clean. Pillows were flat. The manager and a guest got into a fight in the lobby while we were eating breakfast. The pool had a tarp over it and in the middle of the tarp were beer bottles.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Avinie from Delray Beach,FL

Nice 2-day Stay

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: helpful and friendly staff
Cons: your roads and some sort of guide to TV channels
Location: We especially visited the church Faith Chapel which was on our to do list and dined out to a very good seafood restaurant the Fish Market
clean room,comfortable bed (small pillows) staff very helpful especially where to find good restaurants to dine
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent for the Price

Posted May 26, 2014
The location is excellent, and the room was clean and comfortable throughout my six-night stay. My only complaint is that I received a number of telephone calls, and the front desk either claimed I was not a guest or refused to put the calls through.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Only drawback was the plumbing, when you usedl the shower, there was an ear splitting whine. Also if you stay ask for a room away from the Interstate
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Chad from Louisiana

Take off list

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
If the room was offered to me for free I wouldn't of stayed there.
1 out of 5
by Cassandra from Atlanta

Bad

Posted May 4, 2014
Bad; xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs to be updated

Posted May 1, 2014
Room smelled like smoke, hair was found on bathroom floor and on bath towels. The hotel needs to be renovated. The staff was friendly and does the best they can with what is provided. Only stayed one night, cancelled reservation for the second night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Adit from New Jersey

Great Quiet Place!! Close to everything!!

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff is friendly and very helpful!! The owner goes out of his way to help!! Overall A++!!