Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax

Fantastic

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The rooms were fantastic; large and great facilities. The spa was small but well equipped and the food was good
Cons: Reduced rate parking for hotel guests would be welcome as the mailbox car park is expensive at £19 per night
Location: Pleanty to do in the mailbox where the hotel is based - lots of shops, bars and reataurants. 5 minute walk from the city centre
Great hotel; booked a standard room which turned out to be more like a suite. Entrance to Spa and use of gym and spa facilities is included in the room rate which was welcome after a long drive. Breakfast was good but there are lots of places to eat nearby if you haven't booked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel handy for city centre

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was fantastic; room was large with comfy bed
Very comfortable, quiet, amazing breakfast. Stylish design. Location is spot on - handy for the Mailbox bars and restaurants all on your doorstep
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liechtenstein

Very good City Centre Hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: All of it
Cons: more personnel at the reception when guests are queuing up.
Location: Go to the jewelry museum and take a tour. You go back 100 years in time. Nothing has changed!
Malmaison is a very good boutique type of hotel, 5 minutes from the train station. I whisked in 1 1/2 hour from London to Birmingham in Richard Branson's Virgin train and was in my room 10 minutes later. The breakfast is original, not your bacon and fatty sausages type, but excellent guacamole, lots of fresh prepared fruits (not the fruits of cans) and a good à la carte choice of dishes. In the evening I had a very very succulent ahi tuna, beautifully prepared. There is a spa and the bar is an "in" spot in Birmingham. You can take a tour with the BBC, which is in the same Mail Box Building. Behind this building are canals with plenty of fun places. The hotel is good value for money, I can recommend it and will be back when my travels bring me again to Birmingham.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Perfect location for city centre

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Great hotel and location for city centre stay. Staff couldn't be nicer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Lovely room, very clean, loved the stay there.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
I had a amazing night, the bed was comfy, and everything was close by e.g the shops.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK Hotel, convenient for Bullring and Mailbox area

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Cons: Refurbish and lick of paint
Fine for what you get but not what I would expect from Malmaison. Hotel is ageing with aged furniture and heavily stained carpets in all 3 rooms I viewed - bathrooms have also seen better days. However, for the price bracket - acceptable - needs some TLC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Channel Islands

Lovely place to stay in Central Birmingham

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable room, quiet.
Cons: Signage: Sat nav location takes you to the opposite end of the square so follow hotel web site. To find hotel entrance look up- no sign on hotel door
Location: Shopping, eating, library, concert hall
Enjoyed our short business stay, conveniently located for ICC, Symphony Hall, and restaurants in Brinley Place- try Bank
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
watch out for parking, the hotel simply validate your ticket, it's up tp you to look after it on check in and pay for it. room service is not 247, but this is a really lovely boutique hotel, worth staying at if you like a little chic!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Still one of the better hotels in Birmingham

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Ideally located for Shopping and a few drinks
Cons: Parking..!!!
Another nice stay at Malmaison, Parking is not free and Breakfast a little on the expensive side
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com