Ratings based on 472 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom london

Posted Feb 22, 2015
room spacious. toilet lacked space and without sink. no locks on bathroom. cleaning staff lacked professionalism. breakfast had variety and polite and helpful staff. with a good vegetarian range and tea served at the table , however hot chocolate was not nice ( watered down instant) comnpliments to chef/
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Somerset, England

One night stay

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Not much
Cons: Lots - see my experiences above
Location: Fine - new Birmingham library deserves a visit
1. It took ages at reception when I arrived, receptionist said it was the computer system. 2. On arrival at my room it took 10 or more swipes of the key card to get into my room 3. Returning at night the key card would not work at all and I had to return to reception 4. On arriving for breakfast there was no-one to welcome one. I just went and sat down but when I left there were 6 or seven people waiting to be seated. 5. At breakfast the plates were indeed hot but the buffet food was cold 6. One of the waiters/attendants English was so poor he could not understand my request for butter.He was French
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom West Midlands

Nice comforting hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Liked how cheap it was for how good the hotel was.
Cons: Cheaper prices on the breakfast.
Location: Very nice location, right next to the center of Birmingham to go shopping and bars/clubs to go out to on the same street.
Was a very nice stay at the hotel with very nice facilities. Both lobby and bar area were very nice and clean looking with a very comfortable room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nottm

Great location for a great price

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Perfect location, clean, comfortable room, lovely breakfast. No complaints, would go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central and convenient

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Locality
Cons: Stained carpets
Location: Barclaycard arena. Restaurants.
Stayed here to attend a concert at the barclaycard arena. Very convenient. If you want to eat nearby, it's best to book a table ahead of time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Herefordshire

Close to NIA

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: as above
Cons: size of parking area
Location: 5 mins walk from the NIA and Canal Street Basin
Selected the hotel due to location and was pleasantly surprised with overall quality of facilities, decor and service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Convenient central location and a firm comfy bed

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: The mattress and the location.
Cons: The bouncers on the door on Saturday night!
Location: The location's spot on for going out, it's smack bang on Broad Street if you want to relive your student days, and Brindley Place/The Mailbox are also
This hotel's great if you're on a short break in Brum - we stayed for two nights. I slept well both nights - firm, comfy bed and thick curtains blocked out all the light. It was also fairly quiet considering the location. Bathroom was nice and clean with good water pressure in the shower. Didn't have time to use the sauna or steam room but the fact that they were there was a bonus. The staff on reception were polite and helpful. However, the bouncers on the door on the Saturday night were slightly baffling - I'd come in from a meal at a BYOB restaurant and had a can of cider leftover, but one of them wouldn't let me take it into the hotel and drink it in my room. I had a small clutch bag so clearly wasn't planning a boozy night in so I didn't really see the issue, nor why I should have to dispose of my drink, especially given how much I was paying for the room!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very basic room. Separate toilet to bathroom

Posted Jan 18, 2015
very disappointed. very disappointed. very disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom birmingham

lovely stay

Posted Jan 12, 2015
could not fault the hotel, or the stay. Was lovely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom London

Overnight stay

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Modern and comfortable with a great location. Good breakfast.
Location: Great location. 15mins walk to the Bull Ring shopping centre and 5 mins from the canal side with plenty of places to eat and drink.
We stayed at this hotel for a night after Christmas as a city break. It was a very comfotable hotel, very clean and the staff were friendly. We had our two children with us, aged 9 and 11 and the sofa bed was perfect for them and was already prepared and made up when we arrrived. The location is also great with a very good selection of places to eat and drink by the canal just 5mins walk away. I would recommend this hotel.