Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Dec 27, 2012
No hot water, no central heating,TV with malefunction, no light in bathroom, celling was ready to come down Complained at the desk, no action. No price reduction for our inconvenience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid

Posted Dec 16, 2012
VERY poor condition, everything old and VERY tired. Paintwork years old and grubby. Lifts riffy, carpets grubby.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Padre

Starting to lose the plot

Posted Nov 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
Often stay at the Portland ad it's ideally pkaced for Birmingham nightlife. Always been a little shabby but the price was good and they have rooms for smoking. I'm sorry Portland hotel but its all getting a bit bad now. Beer can to hold open the window, ceiling tikes missing, no hot water and yes there was terrible rain and I'm not surprised there was a roof leak in the corridor but atleast try and tidy up all the collapsed tiles on the floor I think it's time to find another hotel for our weekends away.
2 out of 5
by Oliver from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK

disappointing to say nthe least

Posted Nov 27, 2012
Pros: nothing
Cons: too many to mention
on arrival I was given an occupied room which was embarassing. the occupant was watching television. The second room that I was given was then given to someone else after me so I had a stranger walk into my room, yet again another embarassing moment. There was no television in the room, eventhough I was repeatedly been told it would be sorted out.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Barry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by Patricia from Lincoln, UK

not a good hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2012
The room wasn't clean, tiles in the bathroom were cracked and customer service was dreadful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Gemma

Convenient for bus into central Birmingham

Posted Sep 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
Staff helpful and room comfortable with everything that I needed. The hotel is badly in need of refurbishment though. Chef very helpful when I was late for breakfast.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Splodge from England.

Managed to get a nice nights sleep :)

Posted Sep 8, 2012
Pros: Lovely quiet nights sleep, about a mile from the city centre. Excellent staff.
Cons: Tad outdated. Refurb required.
Location: Excellent. Lots of buses to the city centre.
England. nice quiet night and managed to get one here. Arrived late. Price was good and managed to sleep well. Thanks Portland . Close by to the city centre too. Ample parking available. Excellent staff. Decor could do with a refurb though. Just adds to the charm of the hotel, lol. Would definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2012 on Hotels.com