Ratings based on 311 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

My room STANK of Cigarette smoke

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: The general staff (i.e. breakfast people/room servers) = Lovely, friendly, a credit. Location fabulous Quiet
Cons: no smoking in rooms - police this. fine people/smoke alarms? choice of eggs/bread with breakfast reduce price £8 warm milk with coffee redecorate
Location: Location is fabulous. Right in the middle of Mail Box. Lots of food and shopping to be had! taxi rank at doorstep
The hotel room absolutely reeked of cigarettes. The man at reception told me that I had a 'smoking room' and that the hotel was full and I could not be moved. Now, as far as I knew, it is illegal to smoke in a hotel and questioned myself. He sent air freshner up to mask the smell. I phoned back and told the lady that I had booked a non-smoking room and the terms of expedia did not say, which she quoted, 'non-smoking rooms were subject to availability'. The sign by the lifts say that it is illegal to smoke. She did say she would check to see if she could move me but by the time she called back to confirm that she could, I had unpacked and was ironing as it was a little longer that expected and I needed to get out to meet friends. Very angry with this situation. She said she would give me complimentary breakfast which was £10 as an apology. Bit expensive for the breakfast (no choice of eggs, no meats and cheese but everything else lovely). The hotel needs redecorating in the halls and bedrooms. The floor in the corridor feels like it has no underlay and is totally uneven. The plug hole needed emptying of hair as shower was filling up.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location old and very tired hotel.

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Mattress very soft, decoration old and tired. No hot water for shower on Sunday morning. Great location for bars and restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northamptonshire

15th Birthday weekend

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: The hotel is tired, its needs a complete refurb, but the bed was lovely, very clean and comfortable.
Cons: New carpets, new décor. The lighting in both rooms we had booked for the night was poor.
Location: The location was perfect, right on the canal, just brilliant. There are many restaurants, shops and sights to see.
Had a fantastic weekend, never been to Birmingham before and thought it was a beautiful city. The Ramada was right on the canal which was great. We had a lovely time and want to come back to see more.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced - ruins surrounding area

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Over priced run down difficult to get too horel staff were not helpful... No late night access to food... Not what you expect in a ramada hotel...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from caerphilly

Good value in excellent location

Posted May 26, 2015
I booked the hotel before reading reviews and after reading negative reviews was tempted to cancel - nevertheless I went ahead and was pleasantly surprised the room was fine and overlooked the canal and hotel was ideally situated Parked round the corner in town hall car park for £11 per night a lot cheaper than mailbox parking Can't comment on breakfast as booked room only but had breakfast out very cheaply Will definitely be back again as long as price is the same as a lot better than similarly priced hotels in the city
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No Complaints

Posted May 18, 2015
The hotel offered a very relaxing stay. The room was excellent, hotel staff very helpful. Yes the corridors need to be refurbished, well level 4, we didn't see the others. Location is great, just a 5 minute walk along the canal to Brindley Place. Would return without doubt.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2015
Cojimos una habitacion triple, la cama doble muy blanda y la cama auxiliar incomodisima
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambs

Handy for city centre

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Great location, clean room and very reasonable rates.
Cons: Some accurate directions & signage please. Also wifi in rooms - I take tablet rather than laptop when travelling and couldn't use it. Grrrr
Location: B'ham New St just 5 mins, near Bull Ring & O2 Academy. Loads of restaurants/bars nearby, lovely canal walks and next to mini Tesco (cheap breakfast!)
Wanted hotel within walking distance of station :) it was :( but took nearly 40 mins to find hotel as Mailbox being modified and no signage. (Walk into and through carpark, take central lift to level 3 "BBC Birmingham", walk straight ahead and leave building, hotel is on left masquerading as a Starbucks or access via Severn St up steps.) Staff pleasant enough, but not surprised we couldn't find it and just shrugged shoulders. "That's what everyone tells us." Well, sort it then! Room & bathroom both very clean but room a bit dark. Internet cable for laptop but no wifi, apparently you can get that in bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Great location

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: The central location with a great choice of places to eat and drink. We also had a lovely view of the canal.
Cons: The rooms should already have been made up with a double bed and a sofa bed as stated on the booking form.
Location: Easy access to The Bullring, train stations and a great selection of bars and restaurants
We booked a room with a double bed and sofa bed. There was a bit of confusion about this because there were only 2 of us staying in each room. This was eventually rectified after mixed messages from different Reception staff. Great hotel, large, clean rooms and a useful lounge.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guildofrd

Dissappointing

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Unfortunately all the previous reviews were correct. So I was expecting old/dated and unkept. This it definitely was. But I thought I would give it a chance, but I was disappointed with how dirty it was as well. It really needs a good clean. Especially the rooms. The bed really was way too soft and uncomfortable. Noise levels- I expected it to be noisy, but not as much as it was. It sounded like there was no double glazing. The staff were so friendly and helpful, BUT sadly I have to say I will not be staying there again and will not recommend it. It's a shame, as it is a very good location for the ICC/NIA