Ratings based on 299 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No Complaints

Posted May 18, 2015
The hotel offered a very relaxing stay. The room was excellent, hotel staff very helpful. Yes the corridors need to be refurbished, well level 4, we didn't see the others. Location is great, just a 5 minute walk along the canal to Brindley Place. Would return without doubt.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2015
Cojimos una habitacion triple, la cama doble muy blanda y la cama auxiliar incomodisima
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cambs

Handy for city centre

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Great location, clean room and very reasonable rates.
Cons: Some accurate directions & signage please. Also wifi in rooms - I take tablet rather than laptop when travelling and couldn't use it. Grrrr
Location: B'ham New St just 5 mins, near Bull Ring & O2 Academy. Loads of restaurants/bars nearby, lovely canal walks and next to mini Tesco (cheap breakfast!)
Wanted hotel within walking distance of station :) it was :( but took nearly 40 mins to find hotel as Mailbox being modified and no signage. (Walk into and through carpark, take central lift to level 3 "BBC Birmingham", walk straight ahead and leave building, hotel is on left masquerading as a Starbucks or access via Severn St up steps.) Staff pleasant enough, but not surprised we couldn't find it and just shrugged shoulders. "That's what everyone tells us." Well, sort it then! Room & bathroom both very clean but room a bit dark. Internet cable for laptop but no wifi, apparently you can get that in bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lancashire

Great location

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: The central location with a great choice of places to eat and drink. We also had a lovely view of the canal.
Cons: The rooms should already have been made up with a double bed and a sofa bed as stated on the booking form.
Location: Easy access to The Bullring, train stations and a great selection of bars and restaurants
We booked a room with a double bed and sofa bed. There was a bit of confusion about this because there were only 2 of us staying in each room. This was eventually rectified after mixed messages from different Reception staff. Great hotel, large, clean rooms and a useful lounge.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Guildofrd

Dissappointing

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Unfortunately all the previous reviews were correct. So I was expecting old/dated and unkept. This it definitely was. But I thought I would give it a chance, but I was disappointed with how dirty it was as well. It really needs a good clean. Especially the rooms. The bed really was way too soft and uncomfortable. Noise levels- I expected it to be noisy, but not as much as it was. It sounded like there was no double glazing. The staff were so friendly and helpful, BUT sadly I have to say I will not be staying there again and will not recommend it. It's a shame, as it is a very good location for the ICC/NIA
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northamptonshire

Great hotel!

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Gret hotel and it's in a lovely location by the canal. 5 minutes from the train station and bars and resteraunts. Very clean and super comfy beds! Wwe were also able to check in over an hour early because our rooms were ready sooner. Would highly recommend for a weekend city break
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom lyons

Ramada Birmingham City

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Very dated. No reception. Wallpaper falling off wall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Yorkshire

In need of a lick of paint and some TLC

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Location. Proximity to local venues inc New Street station.
Cons: decorate it and teach the cleaners to clean the room properly.
Location: umpteen bars and restaurants.
Once I'd found the way into the lower ground floor and up to the check in, things were easy. Check no problems. Room keys given. Found the room easily. Keys didn't work, even when replaced but desk staff opened the door, no problems. Room ok, temperature of a sauna. Bathroom, toilet area flecks of mildew around the sealant in the shower. Grot of ages behind the sink tap. A stray pubic hair under the toilet seat (!). Peeling paint on the bedroom wall, and in the corridors. Carpets held down with duck tape, threadbare. Having said that, the staff were helpful. Breakfast was perfectly adequate. The hotel is ideally located for the Arena, Symphony Hall etc, not to mention copious restaurants and bars. It looks tired and worn and need of tarting up or flattening and starting again, but the latter would doubtless see a price hike. You get what you pay for, relatively cheap isn't 5 star!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Asked for non smoking room - got given smoking...

Posted Apr 11, 2015
We booked a non smoking room but got given a smoking room which smelled bad. The hotel was fully booked so no possibility of changing room. Disappointed with this, as generally the room itself and hotel was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nottinghamshire

Great location

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Stayed for 1 night. After reading reviews was a bit worried. But pleasantly surprised. Lovely room,reception areas lovely. In a great location