Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with a great staff.

Posted Sep 24, 2014
My wife and I only stayed one night, but were asked repeatly by staff workers if everything meet our expectations and if they could do anything for us. We didn't need anything, but if we did I'm sure they would have helped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Awesome Staff

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: AWESOME STAFF
Cons: Parking could be cheaper. It was 10.00 a day for self parking.
Location: It was downtown Birmingham. There are several areas to eat at within walking distance.
The staff was AWESOME. I felt like I was at a 5 star hotel! I asked for a room away form UAB Hospital and on the corner and was glad I did :~) Everyone from the front desk clerks to the maids were nice and greeted me every morning and afternoon. I am use to good southern hospitality and my stay was exceptional! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes friendly service and southern hospitality with a warm smile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Don't ask for directions!

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Large room, kitchen efficiency, decor, cleanliness of room, excellent housekeeping, nice outdoor pool.
Cons: Front desk staff needs training.
Overall very satisfied with our stay. Room very comfortable and very clean. Excellent value. For the most part, staff was nice. Only complaint is that front desk staff needs to be more informed on directions, transportation, dining and events in the area. I understand there is no concierge, but it was very frustrating that staff did not even know where the closest DART stop to the hotel was! And forget about asking for walking directions! The directions they did provide lead us to an extremely undesirable area of B'ham which was a nightmare!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Starkville, MS

Great location to UAB.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Easy to walk to and from UAB if you so desire. The staff is great and very helpful. I've stayed here 3 times and I'll keep going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, spacious, comfy rooms

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Cons: More visible parking entry from 20th street
I was pleasantly surprised at the comfort and spaciousness of my room. I will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location. Nice staff. Very clean.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Everything was really nice and convenient. If I had one knock, it took our room a good while to get cool. That's a very small complaint though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Nice!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The room, pool area, and breakfast.
Cons: Making sure guest are fully aware of charges(parking).
Location: Museum
The hotel was really nice. The staff was friendly. Nice pool area. The room was perfect! The breakfast selection was awesome! Only complaint would be..not being told about the parking fee until receiving the invoice the next morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Less than desirable street access.

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Beds were wonderful. Baths were wonderful
My only issue was the access to the street. It was less than desirable. I felt like the access to the hotel was via an alley.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Every thing, loved loved the room
Cons: Only the parking, we came back on a saturday night and had to park on the street.
Location: The Civil Rights Institute was excellent and very informative. Loved the storyteller statue.
Loved the setup of this suite and the location. The room had every thing you could want and need. The hotel served a great breakfast and was within easy driving of the attractions and 20th Street S bars and restaurant. The hotel staff were very nice and helpful with restaurant and bar tips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com